Skip to main content

Higher Education (for college faculty and administrators): Articles

Hot links to database searches on specific topics

The links below search two databases: Education Research Complete, and ERIC. 

If your topic is not represented: click on one database search link as a model and when search screen appears, substitute terms specific for your own topic and/or use Comments link below to request a hot link for your topic. 

CAUTION: Avoid using database geographic limiting option for the United States because it eliminates many appropriate items.

student academic workload  Database search   RSS update

faculty workload   Database search   RSS update

college teaching   Database search   RSS update

teaching american literature  Database search   RSS update

teaching languages  Database search   RSS update

teaching spanish language  Database search   RSS update

teaching sciences  Database search   RSS update

teaching physics  Database search   RSS update

Browse or search in selected journals

General publications about Higher Education 

News-focused with job ads

Chronicle of Higher Education  Current issues available in paper format in Milne Library; much but not all current and archived content also publicly available at publisher's website. Articles from most issues (except most recent month) are in EBSCO education databases.

Inside Higher Education

Academic journals

Diverse: Issues in Higher Education

Higher Education Journal  

Journal of General Education

Journal of Higher Education

Research in Higher Education Journal

Review of Higher Education

Publications about Teaching in Higher Education

College Teaching

College Teaching Methods and Styles

Journal of College Teaching and Learning

Journal on Excellence in College Teaching 

Also see Hot links to database searches on selected topics box on this page for articles on teaching.

Difference Between Links Above (a.k.a. Hot or 'Persistent' Links) and RSS Feeds

RSS feeds are limited to very recent articles and usually do not allow you to search for a topic within the articles listed.

The hot or 'persistent'  links above go to databases that may have publication time lags but they do provide access to most issues of a journal and allow you to search for a topic within issues. They also allow you to set up an RSS feed to alert you as soon as an article from a specific journal is added to the database. IMPORTANT: For a more thorough search on a topic, search in multiple journals as in the Hot Links to Articles on Selected Topics box on this page.

Subject Guide

Michelle Costello's picture
Michelle Costello
Contact:
Milne Library/201D
(585) 245-5788
Office Hours: Tuesdays 2:15-3:15pm
Schedule an Appointment