This is the "Databases Defined" page of the "Finding Articles Efficiently" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Finding Articles Efficiently  

Is the introductory workshop into the Ruby certificate and is one of the required workshops to complete the certificate.
Last Updated: Sep 15, 2011 URL: http://libguides.geneseo.edu/finding_articles_efficiently Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Databases Defined Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Workshop Objectives

  • Identify everyday examples of databases
  • Learn the mechanics of a database
  • Learn which database(s) is best for their research projects
  • Learn basic search strategies to help them use databases
 

Database tutorials

There are many great tutorials available on the use of databases. I have listed just a few of these resources below.

 

Databases Defined

What is a database?

"Databases are designed to offer an organized mechanism for storing, managing and retrieving information. They do so through the use of tables." - about.com

What are the different elements of a database?

  • Fields/columns- "A part of a record used for a particular category of data. For instance, the title (ti) field displays the title for each record in the database. Some of the other fields names are author (au), journal (jn) and abstract (ab)."- Cornell University Library
  • Records/rows - "A collection of related data, arranged in fields and treated as a unit. The data for each article in an online database makes up a record." - Cornell University Library
  • Tables - "A table in a relational database is a predefined format of records/rows and fields/columns that define an entity." - about.com

What are some examples of databases?database

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Michelle Costello
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact Info
Phone (585) 245-5788
Send Email
Subjects:
Education

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Thomas Ottaviano
Contact Info
Milne Library - SUNY Geneseo
Instruction/Reference/Government Documents
(585)245-5213
Send Email
 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip