News & Governmental Response
- CNN Haiti EarthquakeContinuing coverage from Cable News Network.
- Democracy Now!A national, daily, independent, news program.
- Embassy of Haiti
- Haitian TimesOnline edition of the English-language Haitian newsweekly.
- LexisNexis AcademicContains full-text documents from over 5,600 sources in news, business, law, medicine, and reference, including federal and state codes and laws; court decisions; Congressional committee transcripts; company information; SEC filings; and more.
- New York Times
- ReliefWeb Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010On-line gateway to information (documents and maps) on humanitarian emergencies and disasters.
- United Nations Stabilization Mission to Haiti
- United States Embassy in Port Au Prince
- White House BlogPresidential response to the crisis.
- World Health Organization: Haiti
Maps
- Haiti Earthquake of 12 January 2010US Department of the Interior.
- MAP CENTRE Haiti: Earthquakes - Jan 2010Frequently updated maps compiled by ReliefWeb.
- Satellite Imagery of possible landslides in Haiti from NASA Earth Observatory

Importance of Learning About Haiti
TransAfrica founder Randall Robinson, author of An Unbroken Agony: Haiti, from Revolution to the Kidnapping of a President: "We need to be told the whole story of these wonderful, resilient, courageous and industrious people." (Full transcript.)
Flickr Photo Feed
Background Information
For putting events into context and for researching background, we recommend the following sources.
- The 12 Jan. 2010 Haiti Earthquake and the Enriquillo-Plaintain Fault
In response to the recent, tragic earthquake that struck southern Haiti, the Geological Society of America has provided open access (free) papers that address the Caribbean plate and the Enriquillo-Plaintain fault line. - National Library of Medicine: Disaster Information Management Research Center
Listing new web pages RE:Haiti earthquake situation from both government agencies and non-governmental organizations (NGOs). Includes a section on Haitian Creole & French-language materials. Links to info on earthquakes & subsequent health issues, such as public health assessments, emergency surgical care, & management of dead bodies. Will continue to expand w/ section on hazards from concrete dust & other airborne particulates from the collapsed buildings & subsequent clean-up activities. - Thrall Special Coverage Guide: Haiti Earthquake
An excellent, comprehensive guide to Haiti, Earthquakes, News, Emergency and Charity Contact Information, and More. Created by librarians Mary Climes & Robert Teiss of Middletown Thrall Library. - A Country Study: Haiti
Library of Congress Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. - Academic Search CompleteScholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
- CIAO: Columbia International Affairs OnlineCovers theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
- Historical AbstractsBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- Jubilee USA: Haiti Resources & Background

- PAIS International w/ArchiveReferences to journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference reports, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material, and more. Newspapers and newsletters are not indexed.
Covers publications from over 120 countries throughout the world. - UNICEF Haiti

- US Department of State Background Note: Haiti

- World Factbook Haiti

- Haiti: Information and How to Help from the Brooklyn Public Library
From the Brooklyn Public Library: information on how to find missing loved ones, retrieve up-to-date news about the earthquake crisis, connect with local Haitian organizations, donate toward emergency relief efforts and become involved in the humanitarian call-to-action as a volunteer. - GeoRefThe primary resource for geoscience literature. Over 2 million scholarly references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and abstracts, reports and theses.
Covers 1785 to the present (North American). 1933 to the present (entire world).
Suggest a resource for this guide.
Use the link below to suggest resources to be added to this guide. Links will eventually be posted in the appropriate sections of the guide.
How to Help
A list of local and national organizations.
- LivingstonCARES Haiti Relief Fund
Livingston CARES has established a Haiti Relief Fund to assist the people of Haiti recover from the recent devastating earthquake. The fund will be administered in collaboration with Dr. Rosemarie Chierici, Chair of the Anthropology Department at SUNY Geneseo. Dr.Chierici is a native of Haiti and has been developing a comprehensive health care system in one of the most impoverished regions of Haiti and has engaged students in service in Haiti for several years. - Haiti Outreach - Pwoje Espwa (H.O.P.E.)
Founded in 1995 by a small group of Haitian and U.S. citizens, H.O.P.E. is an independent, volunteer not-for-profit organization based in Rochester, New York. Our primary purpose is to assist the people of Borgne, Haiti in attaining sustainable, equitable and just living conditions. H.O.P.E. today has a diverse group of volunteers and supporters representing multiple disciplines, talents, nationalities and faith communities. - American Red Cross

- Doctors Without Borders

- InterAction Members Respond to the Earthquake in Haiti
(70 organizations that are providing help in Haiti) - MADRE

- Partners in Health

- World Vision

- Yéle Haiti

Geology of Haiti
- Magnitude 7.0 - HAITI REGIONA summary of the geologic setting of the earthquake, including maps and historical earthquake data for the region.
- The Haitian Earthquake - A Week LaterAn audio podcast from the United States Geological Survey.
- Locating Landslide Risks in Post-Quake Haiti
Using NASA satellite image analysis, locate potential fallout risks from the January earthquake - Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute: Haiti quake occurred in complex, active seismic regionAn expert from the Woods Hole Oceanographic Institute discusses the geologic setting of Haiti and the complex tectonic faults in the region.
- Journal articles about the tectonic setting of HaitiFrom the Geological Society of America, this is a collection of journal articles about the tectonic setting of Haiti including information about the Caribbean plate and the Enriquillo-Plaintain fault line.
- University at Buffalo’s MCEER Information Service
This page is a clearinghouse of information and resources updated daily by a team of librarian/information specialists addressing
· Earthquake facts, statistics and reports
· Structural engineering news
· Aerial imagery
· Maps, remote sensing & GIS
· News sources and photos
· Health care & medical information
· Disaster & emergency management and
· Background on Haiti - Caribbean geology: Haiti earthquakeFrom the Geological Society of London, papers about the geology of the Caribbean. Open Access until the end of March 2010.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Submit a Link