This is the "Articles/Databases" page of the "* Foreign Languages & Literature" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

* Foreign Languages & Literature  

Last Updated: Mar 25, 2013 URL: http://libguides.geneseo.edu/language Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Articles/Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Database Search Tips

  Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique etc.).

 

Use quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).

 

Search authors as a subject to eliminate works written by the author instead of about them.

Limit to peer-reviewed (or at least scholarly) articles to find those most desirable for work at the college level. (Peer-review explained: Some journals require articles to be reviewed by other professionals in a particular field before they can be published.  These are considered the cream of the crop in scholarly articles.)

Apply/transfer critical analysis when two literary works deal with similar concepts or forms. For example, you cannot find an article about an author's exploration of an idea or concept for a particular work, but find one for another work by that author. You can use this article to point out how the author explores the same theme(s) in the work you are writing about. This is especially helpful for very contemporary works that may not have a lot written about them yet.


Articles in Spanish can be found in Worldcat (first search), Clase/Periodica, MLA Bibliography and JSTOR.  You may need to search all of these resources in order to find enough articles for your paper.


Cite backward
  Use the citations from an article to find more on the same topic using Citation Linker.  

Cite forward  Use Google Scholar to find more resources on the same topic by looking up an article to see who it was cited by...

Recommended Resouces

  • Clase and Periódica  Icon
    Offers access to bibliographic citations from documents published in 2,600 scholarly journals published in Latin American and Caribbean journals, as well as from publications that focus on Pan-American issues.
  • LexisNexis Academic  Icon
    Find news in foreign languages (Dutch, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish).
  • MLA International Bibliography  Icon
    MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR?s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
  • Literature Resource Center  Icon
    Includes biographical coverage of more than 115,000 writers and a wealth of critical material on the works of literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.

Multidisciplinary Resources

Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are a good place to start your research.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Justina Elmore
Chat requires JavaScript.
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - LinkedInLogo - Twitter
Contact Info
Justina Elmore
Business & Data Librarian
201A Milne Library
Phone: (585) 245-5193
Make an appointment
Send Email

Need More Help?

Profile Image
Kim Hoffman
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - SkypeLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Milne Library, 201
(585) 245-5046
Send Email
Where do you work in the library?:
Reference/Instruction
Facebook profile:
Kim Hoffman on Facebook
 
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip