Use this guide as a resource for research in spanish-based studies.
Last Updated: Apr 23, 2014
SPANISH LANGUAGE RESOURCES
- Clase and Periódica
CLASE indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. PERIODICA covers journals specializing in science and technology. This link allows you to search both databases simultaneously.
CLASE (Citas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias Sociales y Humanidades) indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in the social sciences and humanities. Spanish language interface.
PERIÓDICA (Índice de Revistas Latinoamericanas en Ciencias) indexes documents published in Latin American journals specializing in science and technology. Spanish language interface.
- HLAS Online - Handbook of Latin American Studies
A selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers. Published since 1935.
- LexisNexis Academic
Contains full-text documents from over 5,600 sources in news, business, law, medicine, and reference. Search for the latest news from Latin America in either English or Spanish/Portugese.
- Red ALyC
Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe. A portal to the full text of over 100 journals from Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal.
Scientific Electronic Library Online. A cooperative project that is developing full-text libraries of journals in Latin America and the Caribbean.
- Bibliografía Mesoamericana
Bibliographic data for the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica. Content includes archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and other related disciplines.
SUBJECT SPECIFIC RESOURCES
- ABI/INFORM Complete
ABI/INFORM Complete includes three databases which may also be searched separately:ABI/INFORM Dateline, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry. Limit results to scholarly or full-text articles. Note: some publishers restrict access to full text fr
- Historical Abstracts
Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
- MLA Bibliography and MLA Directory of Periodicals
A standard source for scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Sociological Abstracts
Contains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are a good place to start your research.