Multidisciplinary Resources
Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are a good place to start your research.
MAA on Twitter
Recommended Resources
- MathSciNet
Provides Internet access to Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. Current Mathematical Publications provides subject indexing of recent and forthcoming publications. - Zentralblatt MATH
Zentrallblatt für Mathematik/Mathematics Abstracts provides citations and abstracts to mathematical research published in more than 2,000 periodicals. - Scopus
An extensive database for scholarly journal articles in the scientific, technical, medical and social sciences fields. - Google ScholarThis search engine from Google searches websites for scholarly information.
- arXiv.org
Science and Mathematics articles
Additional resources to find articles
- Annual Reviews
Indexes review articles published in Annual Reviews series. Primarily science & technology. - ScienceDirect
Contains more than 9 million full-text articles and 60 million citations and abstracts from 2,300 journals in the natural and social sciences, medicine, technology, and business. - Search Mathematics Magazine and the College Mathematics JournalThis index searches past issues of these two publications. Users can locate citation information (title, volume, page, etc.) and use the library's citation linker to find the full text.
Mathematics Journals for Undergraduate Students
To get your hands on the articles in these journals, you can use our Journal Finder, or (if we don't have access) request the articles through IDS.
- The College Mathematics JournalFrom the MAA: "The College Mathematics Journal is designed to enhance classroom learning and stimulate thinking regarding undergraduate mathematics. It publishes articles, short Classroom Capsules, problems, solutions, media reviews and other pieces. All are aimed at the college mathematics curriculum with emphasis on topics taught in the first two years. "
- Mathematics MagazineMathematics Magazine offers lively, readable, and appealing exposition on a wide range of mathematical topics.
- American Mathematical MonthlyThe American Mathematical Monthly publishes articles, notes, and other features about mathematics and the profession. Its readers span a broad spectrum of mathematical interests and abilities.
- PRIMUS : Problems, Resources, and Issues in Mathematics Undergraduate StudiesFrom the journal webpage: "PRIMUS is a refereed journal devoted to dialogue and exchange of ideas among those interested in teaching undergraduate mathematics. This includes those who prepare students for college level mathematics, those who teach college level mathematics, and those who receive students who have been taught college level mathematics."
- Involve
Involve showcases and encourages high-quality mathematical research involving students from all academic levels.
Search MAA Journals
If you need to select a topic from articles published in MAA journals, there are three primary options.
First, you can brose the journal tables of contents (see above).
Second, you can to search the index to Mathematics Magazine and the College Mathematics Journal. This index from Harvey Mudd College searches article titles, authors and first paragraphs. You can find access to the articles via JSTOR. More recent issues are available in print in the Geneseo Mathematics department.
Third, you can also search 3 MAA journals (Mathematics Magazine, College Mathematics Journal and the American Mathematical Monthly) by doing an advanced in JSTOR. This will search the full text of all articles. Use the "Get It" button to request the full text of articles we don't have access to.
- Go to the advanced search in JSTOR
- Scroll down, under the "Narrow by discipline and/or publication title" heading, and click on the plus sign next to the Mathematics subject heading.

- Click on the check boxes next to the three MAA publications (Mathematics Magazine, College Mathematics Journal and the American Mathematical Monthly)
- Scroll back up to the top and uncheck the box that says "Include only content I can access"

- Do your search.
Science and Technology Librarian |







Loading...
