Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Databases to find Journal Articles
Many of the journals you will use in your research are available online through article databases. Databases gather those electronic journals together, usually by subject, and allow you to search many journals for articles on specific topics or by particular authors.
Getting full-text articles from journal databases:
Place a request wherever you see the blue
button or by logging into your IDS account.
- If Milne has it, we'll get it and deliver it to you (usually within 1-2 days).
- Otherwise, we'll try to get it from another library or vendor (usually within 3-7 days).
We'll notify you via email when your items arrive, or if we run into any difficulties.
Research Guides by Subject
Not sure which databases are best for your subject area? Librarians have developed subject-specific guides which include recommendations about databases relevant to your discipline.
Resources A to Z
Databases, indexes, encyclopedias, images, maps and other resources
Need help? Click on the green button with the owl at the top of the page to begin using Chat.
Find Articles (Recommended Databases)
Use one or more of these databases to locate articles on a topic. IMPORTANT! When you try to use a resource from off campus, you will be prompted for your Geneseo ID and password (this is the same ID and password you use to access myCourses and your geneseo email account). Once that's verified, you'll get a link to begin using the database.
Quotations marks (" ") will group words as a phrase, ensuring they appear next to each other in the record. For example: "Corporate Speak" or "constructive criticism."
An Asterisk (*) at the end of a term will allow you to search for different forms of a word with what you enter as a base. For example: econ* will return results for economy, economic, economics, economist, economical, etc.
Check out our how to guide for even more search tips.
Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Business Insights: Essentials combines all of the content formerly found in Business & Company Resource Center with a new interface designed around the research goals and workflows of your diverse business research community. Easily find information on companies, industries and more in the context of timely news, statistical data, and in-depth reports.
Business Economics and Theory (Gale)
Business Economics and Theory Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines focusing on topics in economics and related fields. The database has an emphasis on titles indexed in the American Economic Association's EconLit bibliography.
Business Source Complete
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition, searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,300 journals.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
ProQuest Research Library
Abstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Research Consultations for Distance Learners
Virtual Meeting: I would be happy to meet with you virtually using the medium in which you are most comfortable (Skype, Elluminate, or GoTo Meeting, Google Talk, AIM Video IM, etc...). If you don't know which of these to use, don't panic, we can work that out together. Use the "Schedule a research consultation" link below and be sure to mention that you're requesting a virtual meeting when you tell me about the assignment for which your are seeking assistance.