Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Locating Sources in a Database
This exercise will help you build a search strategy and show you tips and tricks to search in a database.
Once you click on the link, go to "File" >"Make a Copy" to create a copy you can fill out.
What is a keyword?
Keyword is a library term for any word that represents a concept that you are searching for. When you type a word into any database, you want to use keywords.
Keywords tend to be:
Nouns or verbs
Single words or short phrases
Vitally important to the concept you are looking for.
In other words, if you took them out you would have a different topic.
Keywords are almost never:
Connecting words like "the" "it" "then
Special search terms like "and" "or" or "not" (More on this later)
How to use keywords
When you are searching in a database, remember that these resources think differently from you. You need to use special terms to get the database to give you good information.
If you want to connect two concepts, use the word AND. That will give you a list of articles that contain both the concepts you connect.
If you want to look for multiple independent concepts, use the word OR. That will take each word you connect and give you a list of articles that contains either or both concepts.
Some databases also use NOT to exclude information. If you use NOT, the list of articles should remove all articles with the word after NOT.
How to come up with good keywords
The following things are great sources of keywords:
You can take any of these concepts and pull out keywords from them, just by erasing unimportant connecting words.
Another method is to summarize your paper or topic using only 3-5 words.
How to search in EBSCO Databases (Such as Academic Search Complete)
APA citation for this video:
[EBSCO Tutorials]. (2019, February 27).
Introduction to EBSCOhost - Tutorial [Video File]. https://youtu.be/LwdvCs9aFKQ
How to Search in Artstor
Register for an Account
To be able to download an image from Artstor, first, you need to create an account.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Access over a million images covering the fine and decorative arts from around the world as well as architecture and commercial design. ARTstor also includes many images which document cultural events and news stories. Note: You must be logged into the SUNY Geneseo VPN to access this resource. Please use a new private browser window when accessing this resource.
Contact your course librarian