Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Find Books
This will put you directly into our library collection, and you can search for books that we have physically on campus. Delivery to the library takes maximum 2 business days, and you will be emailed when your book is ready.
Using IDS (Interlibrary Loan)
If you find an article in one of the library databases that doesn't have a PDF icon, click on a link or button saying either "Check for available services" or "Get It" to start the process of finding the full text. One of two things will happen:
1) either we have access to the full text from one our databases and the article will open in a new window, or
2) a window will open with a link to request it through IDS.
In the second case, click on this link, and then use your Geneseo username and password to log into IDS. (If you haven't set up your account, you will have to fill out a brief form to do so. You will only have to fill this out once). The form will be automatically filled out for you, and you can then click "Submit Request" to send it off to be fulfilled.
How to find Scholarly Articles
America: History & Life
Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.