Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips for developing a Thesis Statement or Research Question
If your areas of interest are broad, let the sources guide you to a topic.
Pick a topic or question that personally interests you (i.e. something you want to know more about.
Connect your topic or question to other areas of knowledge you possess.
Don't be afraid to change your topic as your research progresses
Use your research topic or question as a source of keywords for searching in databases.
How to use keywords
When you are searching in a database, remember that these resources think differently from you. You need to use special terms to get the database to give you good information.
If you want to connect two concepts, use the word AND. That will give you a list of articles that contain both the concepts you connect.
If you want to look for multiple independent concepts, use the word OR. That will take each word you connect and give you a list of articles that contains either or both concepts.
Some databases also use NOT to exclude information. If you use NOT, the list of articles should remove all articles with the word after NOT.
Database to use for the class
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Which article is the scholarly article?
Laboratory Rodent Diets: 7 votes (87.5%)
Roundup Hysteria: 1 votes (12.5%)
Total Votes: 8 Is the Laboratory Rodent Diets article a credible source?
Yes: 6 votes (85.71%)
No: 1 votes (14.29%)
Total Votes: 7
Is the Roundup Hysteria article a credible source?
Yes: 1 votes (12.5%)
No: 7 votes (87.5%)
Total Votes: 8