Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for INTD 203: Social Foundations of American Education with Dr. Granger and Dr. Jones. This guide will provide you with resources to complete your history of a school project and other assignments.
Questions? Ask the Education Librarian!
Step 1: Identify a School
Step 2A: Research the School via Online Resources
Research the school via online resources: The links below are general websites and resources that may have information on your school. This is where you will need to dig around and see what you find. This takes time. If you get discouraged, please do not hesitate to reach out to your professor and/or education librarian.
School Data Websites
The National Assessment of Educational Progress
The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP) is the largest nationally representative and continuing assessment of what America's students know and can do in various subject areas
NCES - Annual Reports
National Center for Education Statistics - Condition of Education (an annual report)
NCES - Build a Table
National Center for Education Statistics
NCES - Fast Facts
Provides users with concise information on a range of educational issues, from early childhood to adult learning.
NCES - search for a school
National Center for Education Statistics
NYC School Data
New York City Department of Education
NYS State Report Cards
The New York State Report Cards provide enrollment, demographic, attendance, suspension, dropout, teacher, assessment, accountability, graduation rate, post-graduate plan, and fiscal data for public and charter schools, districts, and the State. Data from 1998- 2012.
NYS Report Cards
NYS Report Card data from 2013-2015.
U.S. News & World Report: Best High Schools
Find information on more than 21,000 public high schools. See which schools received gold, silver or bronze medals.
ED.gov Data Express
Data about elementary & secondary schools in the U.S.
120 Years of American Education: A Statistical Portrait
This publication contains statistical trends of elementary, secondary, and higher education institutions. Text and charts describe historical shifts in educational attainment, enrollment, staff, degrees and finance.
Historical Tables and Reports
Provides a variety of education statistics that analysts may find useful without consulting numerous research documents.
Online Yearbooks & Alumni Websites
Find classmates, reunions, yearbooks, and photos.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, books, and more.
Digital Public Library of America
DPLA includes millions of materials from libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural institutions across the country available to all in a one-stop discovery experience.
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 17,900 libraries in 123 countries and territories that participate in the OCLC global cooperative.
Internet Archive is a non-profit library of millions of free books, movies, software, music, websites, and more.
NYS Historic Newspapers
Provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history.
Step 2B: Research the School via Oral History
Research the school with oral history: "Oral history refers both to a method of recording and preserving oral testimony and to the product of that process. It begins with an audio or video recording of a first person account made by an interviewer with an interviewee (also referred to as narrator), both of whom have the conscious intention of creating a permanent record to contribute to an understanding of the past. A verbal document, the oral history, results from this process and is preserved and made available in different forms to other users, researchers, and the public. A critical approach to the oral testimony and interpretations are necessary in the use of oral history" (Oral History Association, 2009).
Websites on Creating Oral Histories
Step 2C: Research the School via Other Sources
Research the school using other sources: You may run into items or content that is not accessible online (e.g. yearbooks, statistics, newsletters). In addition this material may not be archived in catalogs or databases. The best way to get your hands on this content is by physically visiting locations that collect archival materials. The following is a list of locations, and the best person to contact at these locations:
- Local High School - contact the HS librarian
- Local Library - meet with the special collections librarian or archivist
- County/Town Historical Society or Museum - contact a curator or archivist
- Local College (specifically the local history collection) - talk with the special collections librarian
- Perform a web search for school alumni sites - contact the website creator
- Search Facebook or Twitter for school pages or groups - contact the group or page owner