Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide provides an overview of sources for researching LGBTQ+ history and culture. For research help on this or any other topic, request a research consultation.
Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are a good place to start your research.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Indexes 12,500 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. 1990 to the present.
Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library
Abstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
The following Temple databases index and in most cases provide full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, general interest magazines, newspapers and newsletters, pamphlets, and reports highly relevant to LGBT Studies.
LGBT Life with Full Text
Provides abstracts and indexes of over 500 journals, books, and reference works, and full-text access to over 300. Includes a thesaurus of LGBT terminology.
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture
The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
The most complete listing of scholarly publications in psychology and related fields. Provides references to and summaries of scholarly journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations.
Contains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Updated monthly.
Alternative Press Index
Indexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change. Covers 1991 to present.
Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790—with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as Alerts and saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.