Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general background information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more information on your subject. See the below Art History recommendations to start researching about your subject
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
General Reference Center Gold (Gale) General Reference Center Gold provides access to magazines, newspapers, trade publications, and reference books through one easy interface. This general interest database offers the latest content covering current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms by The Concise Dictionary of Art Terms is an accessible and useful A-Z covering a wide range of terms from the visual art world, including materials, techniques, and important styles and periods.In this new edition, the text has been fully revised and updated to reflect the latest developments in the field. It has also been expanded with more than 100 brand new entries, focusing primarily on modern and contemporary art materials and techniques.The Dictionary has also been enhanced with the addition of over 100 weblinks to selected entries, which are accessed and kept up-to-date via a companion website. These links will add another dimension to the print book by visually illustrating various materials and techniques, whilst also providingeasy access to important collections that are freely available online.From abstract art to woodcuts, and the Baroque Revival to ziggurats, this highly browsable dictionary is the ideal reference source for students of Art and all related subjects, for gallery visitors, and for all people interested in the visual arts.
Publication Date: 2010-08-20
The library's catalog is a good source to start your research. Use "Advanced Search" to limit your searches by material type and collections. You can also narrow down your results by "peer reviewed" or "open access" materials.
Getty Research Portal
Free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions.