Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Black History Month...
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Black History in Its Own Words by A look at Black History framed by those who made it. BLACK HISTORY MONTH IN ITS OWN WORDS presentsquotes of dozens of black luminaries with portraits & illustrations byRonald Wimberly. Featuring the memorable words and depictions of Angela Davis,Jean-Michael Basquiat, Kanye West, Zadie Smith, Ice Cube, Dave Chappelle, JamesBaldwin, Spike Lee and more.
Publication Date: 2017-02-14
Critical Reflections on Black History by Wright presents this collection of six essays on aspects of black history. Each essay is based upon a critical historical methodology that is comprised of, among other things, a racial analysis, an intersectional analysis, rigorous logic, conceptual integrity, and a critical analysis of ideas, words, and images. Critical of the romantic approach to the subject, Wright seeks to uncover a deeper analysis, knowledge, and truth regarding aspects of black history, even when it involves the presentation of material and viewpoints that some might find objectionable. He predicates these pieces on the idea that history is still a valuable subject, firmly rejecting the postmodern view that it has lost its validity. Wright demonstrates that black history is a vital and necessary subject, not only for black people, but for all Americans. A critical black history is itself, Wright contends, a device to evaluate American history in a critical manner, to get into the subject more deeply, and to adduce deeper knowledge and truths about it. These essays show the author's interest in strengthening that critical capacity of black historical writing and his belief that this is a primary and necessary means to maintain the viability and productivity of the academic discipline and to ward off its detractors.
Publication Date: 2002-03-30
Last of the Black Titans by This book investigates the historical and contemporary role of Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs). In doing so, it provides a background on the pre-colonial entry of Africans into the Americas, as well as African educational traditions, and the struggles for education during the period of enslavement in North America. It discusses the social, historical and contemporary context that pertains to the development of Black education and the formation of HBCUs as a framework for the case study on African American college-bound students' perceptions about attending an HBCU. Last of the Black Titans weaves in students' perspectives regarding HBCUs and concludes with insights and recommendations regarding the future of these institutions.
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Aluka World Heritage Sites: Africa Africa is made up of more than 86,000 objects in 30 sub-collections. The resource links visual, contextual, and spatial documentation of African heritage sites. The materials in World Heritage Sites: Africa serve researchers in African studies, anthropology, archaeology, architecture, art history, Diaspora studies, folklore and literature, geography, and history, as well as those focused on geomatics, advanced visual and spatial technologies, historic preservation, and urban planning. The collection is also a tool for museums, libraries, NGOs, and government organizations that manage or oversee cultural heritage sites, as well as for experts and professionals engaged in the conservation and management of such sites.
Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law This HeinOnline collection brings together a multitude of essential legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world. This includes every statute passed by every colony and state on slavery, every federal statute dealing with slavery, and all reported state and federal cases on slavery. Cases go into the 20th century, because long after slavery was ended, there were still court cases based on issues emanating from slavery.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database Developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the database is regularly updated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics.
World News Archive - African Newspapers Part of the World Newspaper Archive, more than 70 newspapers published between 1800 and 1922 in Sub-Saharan Africa offer an unrivaled viewpoint into a time of drastic change. A wide range of colonial era viewpoints is chronicled in titles from Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Mozambique, Nigeria, South Africa, Zimbabwe and other locales.
Under "Journal Search" of the library's catalog search the following journal titles to get access to the content.