Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Geneseo Fraser Hall Library Subject Guides


HIST 301 Civil Rights Movement -- Professor Crosby: Citing Sources with CMS, September 18, 2018

Turabian and CMS

                          Turabian Quick Guide    Chicago Manual of Style Online    Chicago Manual of Style (OWL)

Example Bibliography and Footnotes

NOTE: In the Turabian manual, the Bibliography/Note style is covered in Chapters 16 and 17, starting on page 144. Avoid Chapters 18 and 19, which give examples of the Author-Date style, which you will not be using for this class.

Example article

Practice

GoogleDoc for Practicing Footnotes and Bibliography Entries -- ARTICLES

 

Use these articles to practice writing a footnote AND a bibliography entry in the style of CMS/Turabian.

Group 1 "Where From Here? Ideological Perspectives on the Future of the Civil Rights Movement, 1964- 1966,"  by Kristopher Burrell

Group 2 "Civil Rights and the Cold War At Home: Postwar Activism, Anticommunism, and the Decline of the Left," by Eric Arensen

Group 3 "An Unmistakably Working-Class Vision: Birmingham's Foot Soldiers and Their Civil Rights Movement," by Max Krochmal

Group 4 "Reform’s Mating Dance: Presidents, Social Movements, and Racial Realignments," by Sidney M. Milkis & Daniel J. Tichenor

Group 5 "Between Memory and History: Autobiographies of the Civil Rights Movement and the Writing of Civil Rights History," by Kathryn L. Nasstrom

Group 6 "'Every Man Should Try': John L. LeFlore and the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People in Alabama, 1919-1956," by Kevern Verney

Group 7 "Spreading Ripples: SNCC and Social Capital in the Civil Rights Era South," by Joe Street

Group 8 "Divided by Law: The Sit-ins and the Role of the Courts in the Civil Rights Movement," by Christopher W. Schmidt

Group 9 “'A Stalking Horse for the Civil Rights Movement': Head Start and the Legacy of the Freedom Schools," by Beverly C. Tomek

Group 10 "Future Foot Soldiers or Budding Criminals?: The Dynamics of High School Student Activism in the Southern Black Freedom Struggle," by Jon Hale

Citing Digital Sources

GoogleDoc for Practicing Footnotes and Bibliography Entries -- Digital Resources

Group 1 Please cite the transcript on this web page.

Group 2 Please cite a photo on this web page.

Group 3 Please cite the audio recording on this web page.

Group 4 Please cite the transcript on this web page.

Group 5 Please cite the article on this web page.

Group 6 Please cite an oral history interview on this web page.

Group 7 Please cite the letter on this web page.

Group 8 Please cite one of the articles in one of the newspapers on this web page.

Group 9 Please cite the letter on this web page.

Group 10 Please cite this photograph on this web page.

Checklists

Before handing in your research paper, look closely at your footnotes and bibliography. Ask yourself these questions:

1. For every article, do I have all of these elements?

an author

"an article title in quotes"

a journal title in italics

a volume number

a year

page number(s)

2. For every book, do I have all of these elements?

an author

a title in italics

a publisher

a place of publication

a year

3. For every essay or book chapter, do I have all of these elements?

"an essay title in quotes"

an author

a book title in italics

an editor

a publisher

a place of publication

a year

page numbers

 

  • Have ALL your footnotes and bibliography entries got periods at the end?
  • Are ALL of your bibliography entries arranged alphabetically by author’s last name?
  • Do ALL of your footnotes list the author’s first name and then last name (as in “John Smith”) and do ALL of your bibliography entries list the author’s last name first, followed by the author’s first name (as in “Smith, John”)?