Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
African Business Guide
Produced by the Library of Congress, this site contains a collection of major African business and economic information resources available via the Internet.
The American Chambers of Commerce Abroad (AmChams)
"AmChams advance the interests of American business overseas. AmChams pursue trade policy initiatives, make available publications and services, and sponsor a variety of business development programs." See alphabetical listing of countries to link to the AmCham for your country of interest.
COFACE country risk ratings
"The country risk ratings are created by Coface, which stands for Compagnie Française d'Assurance pour le Commerce Extérieur (COFACE), which was created in 1946 as the French export credit agency, then privatized by the government, and continues today as a commercial enterprise. It is part of the larger bank group Natixis. "
Country Background Notes
U.S. State Department--facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations for countries of the world.
Country Commercial Guides
These are length detailed reports prepared annually by U.S. embassies and present a comprehensive look at a country's commercial environments using economic, political and market analysis.
Excellent news magazine reporting on economies of the worlds countries.
See the Country Briefings as well as the Country Surveys .
Enterprise Surveys (from the World Bank)
"This site contains data on the investment climate in 98 countries, based on surveys of almost 66,000 firms. Enterprise surveys measure business perceptions of the investment climate and can be used to analyze the link between job creation and productivity growth. Data featured covers over 500 indicators on topics such as bureaucracy, corruption, court systems, crime, finance, infrastructure, innovation, jobs, productivity, taxation, and trade."
Export.gov (US Export Portal)
Offers world-class market research , trade events, introductions, and counseling. You must register to use this resource but registration is free for students and researchers. Look under Market Research to find country specific research reports.
A global business knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business issues. Maintained by Michigan State University.
View statistics and profiles of individual countries including their maps and flags, use correlation reports and scatterplots to find relationships between variables, and refer to fully integrated encyclopedia with over one million articles.
Population Reference Bureau
Provides timely and objective information on U.S. and international population trends and their implications. Under Data Finder tab you can search a database containing data on 95 demographic variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, the world as a whole, the United States as a whole, and the U.S. states.
Portals to the World
Links providing authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world maintained by the subject specialists at the Library of Congress. Links include: Business, Commerce and Economy, Government Politics and Law, Media and Communication as well as others. Also from the Library of Congress see their series on Country Profiles.
Note: The "Portals to the World" Web project was taken down on September 16, 2010 in order to perform a comprehensive review of its content.
Trade Stats Express
Data from the U. S. Department of Commerce indicating trade between the U. S. and foreign countries in broad industry groupings.
Doing Business in ..... Economic, political, legal ratings for most countries of the world related to the ease of doing business within that country.
Also see the Subnational Projects (from their tool bar) which includes data for locations within a country.
Basic overview and economic data by country provided by the CIA.
Provides practical information on rights and opportunities in running a business in the EU and its Internal Market.