Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Resources from the Free Web
Following the Frontier Line, 1790 to 1890
This series of maps uses data from the decennial censuses 1790 to 1890 and highlights population expansion into new territory, subsequent gains in population density, and increasing urbanization.
From Physical to Political Geography
Wordle descriptions of population distribution in census publications: 1800, 1900, and 2000.
Dynamic Choropleth Maps
Dynamic choropleth maps from the Environmental Protection Agency are fascinating visualization tools that can be used for spatial or visual analyses. A wide variety of social, economic, and environmental data can be shown at the county level on color-coded interactive maps. Uses Java Virtual Machine to display data. Links provided to other data resources. See instructions and link to tutorial below the map.
Published data primarily on the basis of the 2002 North American Industry Classification System (NAICS). NAICS 2002 and NAICS 2007 introduce a number of new industries, including residential remodelers, discount department stores, electronic shopping, electronic auctions, wholesale electronic markets, internet publishing and broadcasting, and web search portals.
Ad Age Data Center
Includes statistics on largest media companies, magazines, and newspapers as well as survey data on the salaries of ad agency executives.
Advertising and Marketing Associations
Useful listing compiled by the Internet Public Library.
"Arbitron Inc. (NYSE: ARB) is a media and marketing research firm serving the media—radio, television, cable and out-of-home—as well as advertisers and advertising agencies. Arbitron’s core businesses are measuring network and local-market radio audiences across the United States; surveying the retail, media and product patterns of local market consumers; and providing application software used for analyzing media audience and marketing information data."
Presents census data in graphic format such as maps, charts and graphs. Allows you to zoom in from a national map to obtain regional information. Includes data on population growth, age distribution, racial distribution, etc.
Includes information and statistics for thousands of cities and counties in the United States. Browse alphabetically by state or search by city, county or zip code.
County and City Data Book
This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. Allows you to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000). The Census also provides data tables for the 2000 & 2007 County and City Data Book at http://www.census.gov/prod/www/general_reference.html.
Population Reference Bureau
Database contains current data on 136 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole.
County Business Patterns
PDF formatted data available for 1993 to 2014. This annual series includes a separate report for each State, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and a U.S. summary. The divisions of the economy covered are agricultural services, forestry, and fisheries; mining; contract construction; manufacturing; transportation and other public utilities; wholesale trade; retail trade; finance, insurance, and real estate; and services.