Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How may I access materials from the Teacher Education Resource Center (TERC) Collection during the Milne Library closure?
- The TERC collection will be available in Fraser Hall Library.
- While we do not have access to all our collections (including the TERC) yet, there are approximately 2,000 titles available for checkout.
- To narrow your search results to what is physically available, perform an Advanced Search in GLOCAT and limit your results to "Available Physical Materials." The results will be updated as more books and materials become available during the spring semester.
It is important to note:
- Web-based lesson planning resources are located on the Education Guide.
- Students and faculty will need to arrange their own transportation to the libraries listed below.
- If students or faculty borrow materials from these libraries, they must return materials to the library of origin. Milne Library does not return materials that are not received through IDS services.
What Are Text Sets?
A text set is a collection of sources that support a common theme, issue or topic. Text sets should include a variety of genres, text types, levels and formats.
Examples of material include (but are not limited to):
- fiction (novels, picture books, short stories)
- non fiction
- newspaper and magazine articles
- webcasts and podcasts
- primary sources (interviews, documents, artifacts)
Additional Resources on Creating Text Sets
How to Create Text Sets
What steps are involved in putting together a text set?
- Start with the content - what do students need to know or in other words -- what do you need to teach?
- Build the text set - find material that supports the content you want to teach and want students to learn.
- Organize the texts - how and when will you use the texts?
- Creating and responding to texts - how will students work with the texts, what will they do with the texts? (Cappiello, 2013)
A few essential questions to ask and/or issues to consider when assembling a text set.
- Think about the standards. What are students expected to know and be able to do? This can dictate the topics/themes chosen.
- What do you (the teacher) want students to know (beyond the standards)?
- What topics/themes/content will engage and excite students (Cappiello, 2013)?
Cappiello, M. A., & Dawes, E. T. (2013). Teaching with text sets. Huntington Beach, Calif: Shell Education.
Finding Magazines/Newspaper Articles
Gale in Context: Elementary
Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Finding Fiction/Non-Fiction Material
When selecting fiction and non fiction material for a text set, consider the following criteria/issues.
- Is it age/grade level/developmentally appropriate for my students?
- Are there reviews available?
- What book lists are available?
Use the given links to find material and answer the above questions.
In addition to the links below, try an advanced Google search for audio or video, your topic, and limit to museums, zoos, archives, government agencies, or universities. i.e. "civil war" and (audio or video) and (museum* OR archive* OR zoo* OR government)
Reading Level Guides
Children's Literature Comprehensive Database
Indexes books and other media for children and adolescents and is continually updated. Provides reviews of many titles, age level, reading level, interest level. Searchable in many ways.
Lexile Framework for Reading
Search for a specific books or a list of books
Teacher Book Wizard
Use Quick Search to search for reading difficulty and interest level of a specific book title, or use Leveled Search to find a list of books by reading difficulty level. Includes lesson plans, more.