Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
*Tips for finding books on special education: Use subject terms below to search in our library catalog for materials on specific disabilites
- Aphasic children
- Aphasic persons
- Autism Autistic children
- Cerebral palsy
- Cerebral palsied children
- Deaf Children
- Visual* impair* [asterisk will find visual impairments or visually impaired]
- Developmentally disabled children
- Dyslexic children
- Epileptic children
- Exceptional children
- Hyperactive children
- Learning disabled
- Learning disabled children
- Children with mental disabilities [includes mental retardation and other mental disabilities]
- People with mental disabilities [includes mental retardation and other mental disabilities]
- Mental Retardation
- Children with perceptual disabilities
- People with perceptual disabilities
- Children with physical disabilities
- People with physical disabilities
- Children with social disabilities
- People with social disabilities
- Mentally ill
- Mentally ill children
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
You may search by topic in any of the database below. For languages other than English, enter the name of the target language in database search box (for example, spanish language). Also search under terms related to target language without adding the term for the language. For example, search under terms related to culture such as Mexico, Mexican, Puerto Rico, etc. (place names, people).
All versions of the database provide FULL TEXT and LEXILE READING LEVELS of magazine articles for children and young adults. They also include some encyclopedia and dictionary articles. For full text, select pdf whenever you have a choice.
For paper copies of some children's/young adults' magazines, see Wadsworth Public Library on Center Street in Geneseo.
Also see databases under News (and other subjects) on Milne Library's LibGuides by Subject pages for articles in popular magazines such as Time, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for middle or high school students.
Gale in Context: Elementary
Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Books in our collection
Differentiated Instructional Strategies for Reading in the Content Areas by
Call Number: LB1050.455 .C52 2003
Publication Date: 2003-05-08
Inclusion Strategies That Work! by
Call Number: curr CC 371.9 K36 2005
Publication Date: 2004-10-12
Strategies for Teaching Adolescents with ADHD by
Call Number: LC4713.2 .D47 2009
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
Teaching Adolescents with Autism by
Call Number: LC4718 .K39 2011
Publication Date: 2011-05-11