Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Foreign Language Studies: Curricula and Standards
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
You may search by topic in any of the database below. For languages other than English, enter the name of the target language in database search box (for example, spanish language). Also search under terms related to target language without adding the term for the language. For example, search under terms related to culture such as Mexico, Mexican, Puerto Rico, etc. (place names, people).
All versions of the database provide FULL TEXT and LEXILE READING LEVELS of magazine articles for children and young adults. They also include some encyclopedia and dictionary articles. For full text, select pdf whenever you have a choice.
For paper copies of some children's/young adults' magazines, see Wadsworth Public Library on Center Street in Geneseo.
Also see databases under News (and other subjects) on Milne Library's LibGuides by Subject pages for articles in popular magazines such as Time, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for middle or high school students.
Gale in Context: Elementary
Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Textbooks/Curriculum Material in French and Spanish
Teaching Strategy/Learning Activity Guides
Search the TERC catalog
Try searching for ELL, or ESL, or the specific language
Teaching Reading in Languages Other Than English
Search the TERC catalog
*Tips -Search for content area reading in foreign languages or a specific language or ELL/ESL
A few books in our collection:
Reading in a Foreign Language by
Call Number: P53.75 .R42 1984
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Teaching Reading and Writing in Spanish and English in Bilingual and Dual Language Classrooms by
Call Number: LB1577.S7 F74 2006
Publication Date: 2006-03-14
Best Practices in ELL Instruction by
Call Number: PE1128.A2 B47 2010
Publication Date: 2010-04-24
Improving Reading Skills Across the Content Areas by
Call Number: curr CC 373.41 R69 2006
Publication Date: 2005-11-11
A large selection of educational games and activities for learning sixty different languages.
Literacy Center Education Network
Provides young students with online learning activities in four languages, English, Spanish, German, and French.
MERLOT is a free and open online community of resources designed primarily for faculty, staff and students of higher education from around the world to share their learning materials and pedagogy.
The Center for Applied Second Language Studies (CASLS) at the University of Oregon is proud to make available to second language teachers an exciting collection of content-based curricular materials in French, Spanish and Japanese.
The Story Place
The Story Place features digital stories in English and Spanish for students of pre-school age through elementary school.