Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Maps come in all shapes and sizes and can be found in a number of locations both online and in print.
Geneseo's print maps can be found in the map cabinets located on the third floor of Milne Library. Several atlases can be found in the reference collection on the main floor at G 1000 - 3000.
This guide will focus heavily on maps and mapping utilities that can be found online. All of these resources will be freely available to the public. They do not require you to be on campus, nor do they require authentication.
Keep in mind that this is by no means everything that is available. There are hundreds of maps and mapping sites available on the web. If you cannot seem to find what you're looking for, please contact me at Ottavian@geneseo.edu
A blog that highlights unusual maps.
Interactive Weather Map
A Current weather map and a movable satellite image of the world. This map will allow you to zoom in and see cloud cover and precipitation for local areas.
Maps of the different languages and Dialects spoken across the globe.
North American Tribal Nations Maps
Aaron Carapella has developed beautiful and informative maps of Native American tribes' history. Aaron says: "Here you will find the most comprehensive maps of pre-contact and at-contact Native North America to date. These maps use Tribal Nation’s original indigenous names for themselves, and show where Tribes were just before contact with outsiders. The intent of these maps is to instill pride in Native peoples and to be used as teaching tools from a Native perspective. These maps are part of my Tribal Nations Map series, which cover the Nations indigenous to the 'United States,' 'Canada,' 'Mexico,' 'Central America,' 'South America,' and “'Alaska.'"
Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection
Digital images of about 5,000 maps made available by the University of Texas. Includes an extensive list of Maps on Other Web Sites. This site is well maintained and contains maps for an incredible variety of topics and locations.
The grand daddy of all map sites. Enter an address or place name and zoom around the world. Overlays for businesses, terrains, special features, etc. You must download software to use Google Earth.
Microsoft's answer to Google Earth, Bing Maps has many similar features to Google Earth and some unique features, including an impressive Bird's Eye view of most major cities.
Street maps for the entire country with the option to view an area from aerial photography. Can locate specific businesses on maps. Drag map with your mouse to change location, or double-click to zoom.
National Geographic Map Machine
Provides an adjustable map that can be viewed as a road map, a satellite map, or a physical map. This resource is similar to, though not quite as dynamic as, both Bing Maps and Google Maps.
Provides Road Maps and driving directions for locations across the United States.
United Nations - Cartographic Section
Includes over 100 maps searchable by region or country-along with country profiles. Also includes thematic maps and the latest deployment maps of U.N. peacekeeping operations.
USA.gov - Maps
A gateway to many different types of maps created by several departments of the U.S. government.
Provides basic maps and demographic information for countries around the world.
CIA World Factbook Maps
The online version of a classic resource. Here you will find quality geographic information on countries and high-quality maps of regions and individual countries of the world. Map images are available in JPEG or PDF format.