Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with a Topic
Browse the Milne Library Guide for Political Science for possible topics!
Consider current events or country-specific issues to begin research within Political Science and International Relations. Explore links on this page as well as the tabs above to discover the rich information available within the library's resources.
New to this field of study? Take a look at the topics involved and prospects of those interested in Political Science.
Congressional Biographical Directory 1774-
Brief summaries of the historical highlights of the members of Congress from 1774 on.
Encyclopedia of World Biography
7,000 biographies on notables from every part of the world and from all time periods. Includes thousands of photos.
Hutchinson Encyclopedia of Modern Political Biography
"Over 2,000 biographies of the world's major players in 20th-century politics.
Numerous quotations – revealing political thoughts and opinions of world leaders. A–Z arrangement of main text, and indexing by country."
Use the the LexisNexis Biographical search form to find information on directors, politicians, celebrities and other leading figures in their field. The information returned may contain data such as positions, date of birth, education, achievements and interests.
Presidents of the United States (POTUS)
Links to biographies, historical documents, audio and video files, and other presidential sites are also included.
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database
Developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the database is regularly updated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics.
Nations of the World (Law Library of Congress)
Part of the Guide to Law Online, for each nation there is info about the constitution, executive, judicial, legislative as well as legal guides. Links to general sources on each country are also included.
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide.
Terrorism: Questions and Answers (Encyclopedia of Terrorism)
An online encyclopedia of terrorism from the Council on Foreign Relations
Women and Social Movements in the U.S., 1600-2000
Brings together articles, books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities. ”Teaching Tools” has 21 comprehensive lesson plans with over 100 lesson ideas and six Document-Based Question units.
There is a guided tour of the basic features of the database.
Need More Help?
If you need help with your research, sign up for a one-on-one Research Consultation with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.