Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started with a Topic
Browse the Milne Library Guide for Urban Studies for possible topics!
current events, country-specific issues or problems faced within your own town to begin research within Urban Studies. Explore links on this page as well as the tabs
above to discover the rich information available within the library's
New to this field of study? Take a look at the topics involved and prospects of those interested in Urban Studies.
The Latest on Urban Studies
Citation Style Guides
Depending on the topic focus within Urban Studies, students will want to refer to the citation style guide that is appropriate for their academic field (i.e. Turabian for history, ASA for sociology).
Need More Help?
If you need help with your research, sign up for a one-on-one Research Consultation with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.
Explore Census Data
Easy access to U.S. census data; coverage includes population, housing, economic, and geographic data. Begin with the Census Bureau (www.census.gov) for access to the Statistical Abstract of the United States as well as a wealth of other data.
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics Data
Good for statistical data on the economy; especially good for earnings and occupational outlook information. Well-designed site for quick answers to common U.S. economy questions.
Dictionary of Sustainable Management
A project of the Presidio Graduate School, this is an open dictionary for business leaders and students of sustainability and business-related terms.
Encyclopedia of Crime and Justice
Covers legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of crime and justice worldwide.
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
"The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education. It is intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in
issues involving schools and society. The Social and Cultural Foundations of Education is an interdisciplinary
field, including disciplines (to name just a few) such as history and sociology, as well as topical areas such as globalization and technology."
National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES collects and analyzes all types of data related to education, including prevalence of students in special education. You can create and export lists of schools, colleges and libraries based on state and/or other criteria.
Find terms and acronyms related to transportation.
FBI Uniform Crime Reports
Annual compilation of crime statistics for the United States, mostly in tabular and chart form. Categories include: type of crime, age, sex, race, region, state, county, city, and others.
World Cities Maps
A-Z list of city maps worldwide from the Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection.