Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference Resources/Getting Started
Specialized reference sources are a great place to begin your
research. They provide an overview of your topic, suggest further
reading, and can be a great resource when brainstorming search terms to
use in databases when searching for books and articles.
Want more tips for getting started? Check out this guide on how to begin your research
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
”In 1972, the Encyclopaedia Judaica fulfilled the longstanding dream of capturing the full richness of Jewish culture in a single authoritative publication, heralded in the scholarly community as one of the best reference works ever compiled.” --Publisher
Available in Milne at DS102.8 .E496
Encyclopedia of Christianity
This one-volume work ”covers all forms of the faith throughout history and the world. Over 300 major articles by distinguished international contributors are linked through a novel series of pointers that provide different angles on topics and show the connections between them.” -- Publisher
Located in Milne Library at: ref BR95 E47 2005
Encyclopedia of Religion
A standard, exhaustive reference in the field, this scholarly encyclopedia takes a cross-cultural approach to all aspects of religion and religious practices.
Located in Milne Library at: ref BL31 .E46 1986
The Islamic World: Past and Present
Adapted from the 4-volume Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern Islamic World (1995) (in Milne at DS35.53 .O95 1995), this comprehensive resource containing more than 300 articles ”brings all the scholarship and information of the original to general readers and college and high school students.” The set includes coverage of recent events and changes, and aims to foster understanding of Islam in a post-9/11 context.
Located in Milne Library at: ref DS35.53 .I86 2004
The Jewish Encyclopedia
Provides the complete, unedited contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, originally published between 1901-1906, and includes over 15,000 articles and illustrations.
Since the original work was completed over 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish history (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.
Where to find Data and Statistics by Topic