Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing Local History Research While SUNY Geneseo's Library Collections Are Inaccessible
Explore the tabs above to discover local history resources available in the Library (and especially beyond, until the collections are moved to Fraser Hall Library). Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for research assistance and suggestions for alternatives to physical materials held by the Library. Many print materials can be borrowed through Information Delivery Services (IDS).
Advanced GLOCAT (some full-text)
Search Milne Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content. NOTE: Physical materials currently in Milne (inaccessible) will not display in GLOCAT. Search WorldCat instead.
New York State Historic Newspapers (full-text)
Search the full-text of select historical newspapers from New York State, including area counties. Additional newspapers are added regularly.
Fulton History (full-text)
Website created and maintained by Tom Tryniski, who has scanned and made searchable millions of pages of historical New York State newspapers. For old issues of many small-town newspapers, this is the only place to find them online.
Rochester Newspaper Index (index only)
A project of Rochester Public Library, this index covers many early Rochester newspapers including the Rochester Daily Democrat, the Working Man's Advocate, and the Rochester Republican.
New York State Newspaper Project (directory)
List of microfilmed newspapers held by the New York State Library and other repositories throughout New York State, with detailed holdings and location information. Searchable by county, city and title of publication, and key word.
Geneseo and Livingston County: Local History Notes Taken from the Livingston Republican and Other Sources (print, index only)
Highly selective subject index to Livingston County newspapers, especially the Livingston Republican. Compiled from extensive notes taken by SUNY Geneseo Professor Emeritus Bruce Klee for his local history column, ”Valley Chronicles,” which appeared in the weekly Livingston County Leader (later the Livingston County Leader/Republican).
Shelved at gen F129 G3 K54 2002 v.1-2
Other Non-Newspaper Serials/Journals
America: History & Life
Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
Special Collections Librarian