Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing Local History Research While SUNY Geneseo's Library Collections Are Inaccessible
Explore the tabs above to discover local history resources available in the Library (and especially beyond, until the collections are moved to Fraser Hall Library). Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for research assistance and suggestions for alternatives to physical materials held by the Library. Many print materials can be borrowed through Information Delivery Services (IDS).
Livingston County Historian
The Historian's Office maintains an vast and well-organized collection of photographs, some of which are available online (see above).
Livingston County Historical Society Museum
The photograph files at LCHS are available to view on-site only. For more information or to make an appointment, call 585-243-7955 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
A research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and others who are interested in the Empire State's history. Provides access to hundreds of digital collections from libraries, museums and archives from all over the state.
Livingston County Photo Gallery
A digitized sampling of the extensive collection of historical photographs held at the County Historian's Office, usefully sorted into albums such as "Schools," "Livingston Landmarks," "Homes and People," etc.
Includes historical and contemporary pictures, maps and manuscripts from Rochester and Monroe County.
Digital Collections: New York State Archives
Access photographs, textual materials, artifacts, government documents, manuscripts, and other materials relating to New York State's rich history.
Digital Public Library of America
Digital Public Library of America has over 7 million items that include image, text, moving images and sound. To locate items, conduct a general search and then use the filters to identify moving images for streaming items. Rights information is listed in the item's record.
Library of Congress Photographs
Contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division and, in some cases, other units of the Library of Congress. It includes photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.
Special Collections Librarian