Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Geneseo Fraser Hall Library Subject Guides


Local and SUNY Geneseo History: Primary Sources

Accessing Unique/Archival Local History Materials While SUNY Geneseo's Library Collections Are Inaccessible

Researchers will have to rely on digitized materials and collections, or visit other libraries and historical agencies, to view unique, manuscript, and/or archival itemsExplore the tabs above to discover local history resources, including primary sources,  available outside SUNY Geneseo's Library. Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for research assistance. 

County, Town, and Village Historians and Historical Societies

This guide includes resources available at historical agencies most relevant to Geneseo, but all New York State counties have official historians, and most have historical societies as well. The Association of Public Historians of NYS list of county, town and village historians will lead you to the historian/collection you need. The list is arranged numerically by region -- local counties are in Regions 11 and 12.

Regional and New York State Resources

See also the collections listed under "Digital Projects" at the UR Libraries' Exhibitions, Projects, and Publications page (https://rbscp.lib.rochester.edu/175).

Other Resources

For a broader,  more complete list of primary source digital collections, go to the History LibGuide page Finding Primary Sources Online

Special Collections Librarian

Liz Argentieri's picture
Liz Argentieri
Contact:
Fraser Hall Library, Room 213
(585) 245-5194

Maps

While not an exhaustive list, the resources below provide thousands of digital maps, including many of local historical interest.

See also the Library's Maps Research Guide for more information and links.