Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing College History Research While SUNY Geneseo's Library (including the College Archives) is Inaccessible
The Lamron (student newspaper)
Searchable site of recent Lamron content, including archived pdf issues from Fall 2013 through Fall 2015.
The Lamron (1922-1974)
Searchable, page image pdfs of Lamron issues spanning 1922-1974, plus other Livingston County newspapers. Part of the New York State Historic Newspapers site.
SUNY Geneseo's award-winning alumni publication. Online issues go back to 2009. A complete run from 1976 - present is held in the College Archives (currently closed -- ask the Special Collections Librarian for assistance locating the issue you need).
Livingston County Historian
In addition to a wealth of primary source materials and photographs, the Historian's Office maintains well-organized binders of newspaper and other clippings, including binders dealing with the College.
Click on the Articles tab (this guide) for additional resources.
Histories of SUNY Geneseo (available via Information Delivery Services)
- SUNY Geneseo: From Normal School to Public Ivy, 1871-2007, by Wayne Mahood, et al.(Virginia Beach, VA: Donning, 2008)
- The Stone Strength of the Past, by Rosalind R. Fisher (Wm. J. Keller Inc., 1971)
- Special Issue Commemorating the Centennial of the State University College of Arts and Science at Geneseo, New York (Geneseo, NY: Sanders Publications)
- Brief History of the State University Teachers College, Geneseo, NY, by Clayton Mau; compiled by James L. McNally (Geneseo, NY: SUNY Geneseo, 1956, 2001)
- 50th Anniversary/The Lamron, Geneseo State Normal School, ed. by Helen S. Heermans, (Geneseo, NY: The Lamron, 1921)
GLOCAT (Advanced Search)
Search SUNY Geneseo's Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content. NOTE: Physical materials currently in Milne (inaccessible) will not display in GLOCAT. Search WorldCat instead.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from SUNY Geneseo's Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.
Click on Books tab (this guide) for additional resources.
College Archives Photograph Collection
The College Archives photo collection has been digitized and will be available on KnightScholar soon. In the meantime, contact the Special Collections Librarian for image inquiries and requests.
College Communications and Marketing -- Photo Archive
A wealth of photographs documenting the people, places, and events at SUNY Geneseo.
Livingston County Historian
The Historian's Office maintains an vast and well-organized collection of photographs, some of which are available online (see above).
Livingston County Historical Society Museum
The photograph files at LCHS are available to view on-site only. For more information or to make an appointment, call 585-243-7955 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Click on the Images tab (this guide) for more resources.
Special Collections Librarian
Documents & Records (etc.)
The Oh-Ha-Daih is available online for the years 1943-2000. The College Archives collection (currently inaccessible) houses yearbooks (and yearbook-like precursors) going back to the earliest years. Contact the Special Collections Librarian for help locating pre-1943 issues.
Office of Institutional Research
A wealth of current and historical data about the College, including links to the annual Fact Book, Fact Sheet, and Common Data Set.
Office of the President
Among the documents available online through the President's office are annual reports, College Council meeting minutes and agendas, speeches, strategic plan, and more.
College Senate Bulletin
Archive goes back to 1966.
You may also wish to contact a specific College office or department to inquire about their available records and documents, or contact the Special Collections Librarian for assistance.