Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Geneseo Fraser Hall Library Subject Guides


* Literature, Linguistics, and Grammar: Book Reviews

Advice on Finding Books Reviews in the Disciplines

A general approach to finding book reviews in specific disciplines is to use Subject Databases.  Type the title of the books in quotes and if possible limit your search (generally document or record type) to "book review" or "review."  If the desired limit option is not available in the database, add a second line to your search and include the word review. Sample of subject databases with book reviews:

Business: Business Source Complete

Education:  ERIC

History:  American History & Life, Historical Abstracts

Music and Art:  use Jstor or Academic Search Complete

Philosophy:  Philosopher's Index

Sciences:  ScienceDirect (under Journals tab)

Political Science:  Worldwide Political Science Abstracts

Psychology:  PsycINFO, PsycARTICLES

Sociology:  Sociological Abstracts

Finding Book Reviews

Most databases give you the option to narrow your search to a certain type of article; choose Review from the list of types, and type the title of the book.

 

Or, if the database does not give you the choice to narrow to review, just type the word review along with the title of the book you are researching.