Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Topic Selection and Search Strategies
Choosing a topic can be a difficult task for students. It may be helpful to find some background information first. This process will help introduce new topics, highlight areas for further research and provide unique vocabulary. These terms or keywords can be used to locate resources.
Good places to look for background information include encyclopedias, textbooks, blogs and news articles.
Need more help? Visit these websites for more information.
Milne's "How Do I . . . Begin My Research" guide
University of Houston: Research Tips
Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education
"The Encyclopedia of the Social and Cultural Foundations of Education. It is intended to provide a comprehensive background for those interested in
issues involving schools and society. The Social and Cultural Foundations of Education is an interdisciplinary
field, including disciplines (to name just a few) such as history and sociology, as well as topical areas such as globalization and technology."
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Reference resources (encyclopedias,
dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general
information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they
will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more
information on your subject.
The Assessment Debate : A Reference Handbook
Encyclopedia of American Education
The Encyclopedia of Learning Disabilities
Encyclopedia of Multicultural Education
Encyclopedia of Special Education
Second Handbook of Research on Mathematics Teaching and Learning