Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
IMAGES CREDIT: Ladies Home Journal, October 1892
Secondary Sources--articles by historians
America: History & Life
Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
19th and 20th Century Newspapers
New York Times Article Archive
The complete backfile of The New York Times can be searched from NYTimes.com, over 16 million articles in all. The database gives free access to articles from 1857 to 1922, and after 1987. For the full text of articles that appeared between 1923 and 1986, you can use the microfilm copies of the NYT, available on the lower floor of Milne Library.
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present.
InfoTrac Newsstand (Gale)
InfoTrac Newsstand provides access to full-text newspapers and allows users to search articles instantly by title, headline, date, newspaper section, or other fields. The database offers a one-stop source for current news and searchable archives.
Rochester Regional Historical Newspapers
Access to selected historical newspapers from the service area of the Rochester Regional Library Council: Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Wayne and Wyoming counties
If you need help with your history research, sign up for a one-on-one Student Research Consultation (SRC) with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.
19th and 20th Century Magazines
Some of the research tools listed below have the full text of primary sources and some will help you identify primary sources that you then need to request via the IDS service.
Readers' Guide Retrospective
Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
Women Working, 1800-1930
Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the U.S. economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
A multidisciplinary database of over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Subjects covered include business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more.