Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Repositories - National Data
National Geospatial Program
A gateway to resources that help visualize national geospatial data in map format.
National Weather Service GIS Data
GIS data with a Meteorological slant issued by the National Weather Service
NYS Data Center Geography & Mapping
Interactive query access to geographic boundary files, Census attribute data for various levels of statistical and political geography, and predefined thematic maps illustrating various economic and demographic characteristics of the population
Seamless Data Warehouse
A resource that provides access to free downloads of various layers of National Geospatial Data.
UNEP - Geo Data Portal
The GEO Data Portal is the authoritative source for data sets used by UNEP and its partners in the Global Environment Outlook (GEO) report and other integrated environment assessments. Its online database holds more than 500 different variables, as national, subregional, regional and global statistics or as geospatial data sets (maps), covering themes like Freshwater, Population, Forests, Emissions, Climate, Disasters, Health and GDP.
USDA - Web Soil Survey
"Provides soil data and information [in map form] produced by the National Cooperative Soil Survey."
USGS - Land Processes Distributed Active Archive Center (LP DAAC)
"A component of NASAs Earth Observing System (EOS) Data and Information System (EOSDIS). LP DAAC processes, archives, and distributes land data and products derived from the EOS sensors."
Data Repositories - State Data
Cornell University Geographic Information Repository
"CUGIR provides geospatial data and metadata for New York State, with special emphasis on those natural features relevant to agriculture, ecology, natural resources, and human-environment interactions."
NYS - Orthos Online
A collection of Orthoimagery collected by and for New York State since 1990.
A repository of New York State GIS data issued by the Division of Homeland Security and Emergency Services.
Data Repositories - International Data
Ciesin World Data Center
This portal, hosted by NASA’s Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC), provides access to a wide range of global data, associated documentation, and visualization and analysis tools, and to the community of experts on global data.
Consortium for Spatial Information - CGIAR CSI
An international organization that aims to use GIS and Remote Sensing data to help sustain agricultural development.
DIVA - GIS
Select and download free geographic (GIS) data for any country in the world
Earth Explorer (USGS)
International Satellite Imagery and shaded relief with datasets available to enhance the imagery.
Geospatial Data "provided by the Earth Sciences Sector (ESS) of Natural Resources Canada (NRCan)"
Global Land Cover Facility
"The GLCF is a center for land cover science with a focus on research using remotely sensed satellite data and products to assess land cover change for local to global systems."
NASA - Goddard Earth Science Data & Info Services Center
This resource houses NASA's "Precipitation, Hydrology, and Atmospheric Composition and Dynamics data and information," and the Goddard Space Flight Center's National and International Land Data Assimilation Systems.
NASA Stennis LandSat Data
LandSat data: circa 1990/2000.
World Wide Central
A gateway to sources of Orthoimagery from around the world.