Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
20th Century Newspaper & Magazine Articles (Primary Sources)
Readers' Guide Retrospective Comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
New York Times Article Archive The complete backfile of The New York Times can be searched from NYTimes.com, over 16 million articles in all. The database gives free access to articles from 1857 to 1922, and after 1987. For the full text of articles that appeared between 1923 and 1986, you can use the microfilm copies of the NYT, available on the lower floor of Milne Library.
If you need help researching your topic, request a one-on-one Student Research Consultation (SRC) with a reference librarian who can help guide you through your research project.
Use these databases to search for scholarly history journal articles (secondary sources)
America: History & Life Covers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
Historical Abstracts Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
JSTOR Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.