HIST 480 Vietnam War -- Professor Kleiman: Library Session, October 3rd, 2019
Resource Exploration Sheet
Citation Tracking
Citation Tracking
Citation tracking refers to the practice of using the bibliography or reference list of a key article to find other suitable articles, and then to search for more recent articles that cite the key article in their bibliographies or reference lists. There are several databases that allow you to do this; Google Scholar and Scopus are particularly useful for citation tracking.
"Atrocity, Authenticity and American Exceptional: (Ir)rationalising the Massacre at My Lai"
1. "The Response of the Moderate Wing of the Civil Rights Movement to War in Vietnam"
2. "Eating Soup with a Spoon: The U.S. Army as a "Learning Organization" in the Vietnam War"
3. "The -Ology War: Technology and Ideology in the Vietnamese Defense of Hanoi, 1967"
4. "Toward a Better Understanding of Attrition: The Korean and Vietnam Wars"
5. "Winning the Vietnam War: Westmoreland's Approach in Two Documents"
Links to databases for this class
-
America: History & LifeCovers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
-
New York TimesThis site gives us access to the entire historical archive via our subscription.
-
Readers' Guide RetrospectiveComprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States from 1890 - 1982. Reflects the history of 20th century America.
-
Alternative Press IndexIndexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change. Covers 1991 to present.
-
HeinOnlineAn ever-expanding database that specializes in offering original PDF copies of full-runs of legal collections. It includes: most major legal periodicals, federal and state statutes, court decisions, attorney general reports and opinions, federal legislative history materials, treaties, foreign & international law material, and numerous specialized legal collections. The text of collections are fully searchable and there are tools to browse or find items by citation.
