Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Geneseo Fraser Hall Library Subject Guides


HIST 162 History Matters/U.S.: BLM -- Professor Crosby: Citing sources

Chicago/Turabian Citations

                          Turabian Quick Guide    Chicago Manual of Style Online    Chicago Manual of Style (OWL)

 

NOTE: In the Turabian manual, the Bibliography/Note style is covered in Chapters 16 and 17, starting on page 144. Avoid Chapters 18 and 19, which give examples of the Author-Date style, which you will not be using for this class.

Sample Footnotes and Bibliography

Checklists

Before handing in your research paper, look closely at your footnotes and bibliography. Ask yourself these questions:

1. For every article that I got IN PDF FORM FROM A RESEARCH DATABASE, do I have all of these elements?

an author

"An Article Title in Quotes, With All Words Capitalized (except in, and, of)"

a journal or magazine or newspaper title in italics, and All Words in the Journal Title Capitalized

a volume number

a year

page number(s)

2. For every article I got ON A WEB PAGE, do I have all of these elements?

an author

"An Article Title in Quotes, With All Words Capitalized (except for in, and, of)"

a journal or magazine or newspaper title in italics, and All Words in the Journal Title Capitalized

a volume number

a year

a DOI or a Permalink or a URL

an access date

page number(s), if available

3. For every book, do I have all of these elements?

an author

a title in italics, With All Words Capitalized (except for in, and, of)

a publisher

a place of publication

a year

4. For every essay or book chapter, do I have all of these elements?

"an essay title in quotes, With All Words Capitalized (except in, and, of, etc.)"

an author

a book title in italics, With All Words Capitalized (except for in, and, of)

an editor

a publisher

a place of publication

a year

page numbers

5. For every web page, do I have all of these elements?

a title of the web page, With All Words Capitalized (except for in, and, of)

the name of the organization or publication that sponsors the web page

a URL

a year, if available

an author, if available        

an access date                                   

Citing Sources

Example: Journal article

America: History & Life

Correct form for a FOOTNOTE for a journal article you got as a PDF:

Correct form for a BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a journal article you got as a PDF:

Example: Book

Correct form for a FOOTNOTE for a book:

 

Correct form for a BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a book:

Example: Newspaper article online

Angela Davis Acquitted On All Charges

 

Correct form for a FOOTNOTE for a newspaper article you got online:

 

Correct form for a BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a newspaper article you got online:

Example: TV Program, on YouTube
1966 THROWBACK: Stokely Carmichael On CBS "FACE THE NATION"

Correct FOOTNOTE for a TV program you found on YouTube:

 

Correct BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a TV program you found on YouTube:

Example: Sources from Digital Collections

Ella Baker, SNCC Digital Gateway

Correct form for a footnote and bibliography entry for unsigned text from a web page:

 

 Women in SNCC, SNCC Digital Gateway

Correct form for a footnote and bibliography entry for signed essay from a web page:

     

Another example: Interview with Ella Baker

Example: Sources from Digital Collections

Letter to an Unidentified Recipient

Jeff Donaldson papers, part of Archives of American Art, part of the Smithsonian Institution

Correct form for a footnote for a specific document in a digital collection:

 

Correct form for a bibliography entry for a specific document in a digital collection:

 

 

Correct form for a bibliography entry if you've used multiple items from the same digital collection:

Example: Podcast

Rebel Beat Podcast, found on
Internet Archive's Black Lives Matter page