HIST 430 SNCC & Social Justice -- Professor Crosby: Library Session, April 5, 2018, Citing Digital Sources
CMS/Turabian
Turabian Quick Guide Chicago Manual of Style Online Chicago Manual of Style (OWL)
NOTE: In the Turabian manual, the Bibliography/Note style is covered in Chapters 16 and 17, starting on page 144. Avoid Chapters 18 and 19, which give examples of the Author-Date style, which you will not be using for this class.
Citing Digital Sources
Example #1 Sources from Digital Collections
Letter to an Unidentified Recipient
Jeff Donaldson papers, part of Archives of American Art, part of the Smithsonian Institution
Correct form for a footnote for a specific document in a digital collection:
Correct form for a bibliography entry for a specific document in a digital collection:
Correct form for a bibliography entry for multiple items from a digital collection:
Example #2 Sources from Digital Collections
Ella Baker, SNCC Digital Gateway
Correct form for a footnote and bibliography entry for unsigned text from a web page:
Women in SNCC, SNCC Digital Gateway
Correct form for a footnote and bibliography entry for signed essay from a web page:
Another example: Interview with Ella Baker
Example #3 TV Program, on YouTube
1966 THROWBACK: Stokely Carmichael On CBS "FACE THE NATION"
Correct FOOTNOTE for a TV program you found on YouTube:
Correct BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a TV program you found on YouTube:
Example #4 Newspaper article online
Angela Davis Acquitted On All Charges
Correct form for a FOOTNOTE for a newspaper article you got online:
Correct form for a BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a newspaper article you got online:
Example #5 Article from Database or PDF
Correct form for a FOOTNOTE for an article you got full text from a database:
Correct form for a BIBLIOGRAPHY ENTRY for a journal article you got full text from a database:
Practice Citing Online Sources
Use this GoogleDoc to practice CMS/Turabian citations. Write a footnote and a bibliography entry for these online sources:
1. Stokely Carmichael Interview Transcript
2. Memorandum to Freedom School Teachers
3. Letters from Freedom Summer volunteer Russell Allan to his parents, July 1964
4. "First Day Marked with Odd Quietness," Alabama Journal article, March 23, 1965
5. Idessa Williams Addressing an Audience, Montgomery Alabama Civil Rights Rally, photo
6. "33 Jailed in Sit-ins," Student Voice article, November 18, 1963
7. Bernice Johnson Reagon, brief statement
8. "What We Did," by Julian Bond
11. "What Julian Bond Taught Me," by Jeanne Theoharis
12. "A&T Students Launch 'Sit Down' Demand for Service at Downtown Lunch Counter"
14. "A Freedom Singer Shares the Music of the Movement" (cite the audio recording called "Freedom Medley: Freedom Chant/Oh Freedom/This Little Light of Mine")