Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SUNY Geneseo Fraser Hall Library Subject Guides


HIST 302 Urban History -- Professor Babovic: Library Session, November 13, 2019

Turabian and CMS

NOTE: In the Chicago/Turabian style, there are actually 2 methods of citing. One is called Notes/Bibliography style,  covered in Chapters 16 and 17 of the Turabian manual, starting on page 144. The other is called the Author-Date style, covered in Chapters 18 and 19 of the Turabian manual. Your professor wants you to use Notes/Bibliography, so BE CAREFUL about which examples you follow in the manual or online.

Citing Sources -- Turabian Footnotes and Bibliography Entries

Citing an essay, chapter, or other part of a book:

Citing a part of a book that was previously published elsewhere (as primary sources often are):

If you use more than one primary source from the same edited volume, your footnote should identify the primary source, but you may list the book only once in your bibliography, like this:

 

Citing a journal article you got as a PDF, from a database or via interlibrary loan:

 

Citing a journal article you got as a PDF, from a database or via interlibrary loan, with a DOI:

 

Citing a newspaper article you saw online:

 

 

  Citing a web page with scanned image of a document from an archive:

 

Citing a web page with a scanned image of an unpublished letter from an archive:

        

Citing a web page with an interview:

 *** If you do not have a date for the interview, or the name of the interviewer, simply leave them out. Likewise, if there is no "title" to the interview (i.e. “Texan Environmental Activist Diane Wilson: Why I Refuse to go Jail”) just put the word Interview after the name of the person being interviewed.

 

Citing a TV program that you saw on YouTube:

 

 

Book you saw online: