Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to Milne's Guide to Dance. Whether you're new to research in our Library or an "old pro," this is the place to begin. Explore the information in this page to find resources available within Milne Library and beyond that are relevant and often scholarly for your Dance topic.
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general background information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more information on your subject.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
International Encyclopedia of Dance by Since its 1998 publication, the International Encyclopedia of Dance has been the definitive source on this expressive art form, documenting all types of dance around the world and throughout history. Now available in an affordable, attractive paperback edition, this indispensable referencemakes a stunning addition to the small library.In six volumes, the Encyclopedia offers authoritative coverage of the full spectrum of dance, including theatrical, ritual dance-drama, folk, traditional, ethnic, and social dance. Extensive historical and cultural overviews of many nations appear along with articles on specific dance forms, musicand costumes, performances, biographies of dancers and choreographers, and much more. The set features nearly 2,000 alphabetically arranged articles, an exhaustive index, full cross-references, and more than 2,300 illustrations.Amazing in its scope and dazzling in its diversity, the Encyclopedia is like no other reference work on dance. Accessibly written and arranged for use by a wide audience, it is essential for academic and public libraries, and every arts and humanities aficionado.
Publication Date: 2004-12-23
The library's catalog is a good source to start your research. Use "Advanced Search" to limit your searches by material type and collections. You can also narrow down your results by "peer reviewed" or "open access" materials.