Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the Film Studies Library Guide!
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general background information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more information on your subject. See the below Art History recommendations to start researching about your subject
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Humanities Source Humanities Source provides full text—plus abstracts and bibliographic indexing—for the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities. Including feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more,
The library's catalog is a good source to start your research. Use "Advanced Search" to limit your searches by material type and collections. You can also narrow down your results by "peer reviewed" or "open access" materials.
- Getty Research Portal
Free online search platform providing worldwide access to an extensive collection of digitized art history texts from a range of institutions.