Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Because you're more than likely to be using articles & other electronic resources for your research, this page is the best place to start with your research. You'll find links to French-language-specific databases, databases that cover a wide range of areas of study (multidisciplinary), some databases that are discipline-specific & likely to have materials you can use, & some other links that I think can be useful, depending on what your research focuses on.
Covering a broad range of subjects and topics for numerous disciplines, these resources are a good place to start your research.
Academic Search Complete
Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
Google Scholar is a freely accessible web search engine that indexes the full text or metadata of scholarly literature across an array of publishing formats and disciplines.
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800s. There is a gap, typically 1–5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research Library
Abstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
FRENCH LANGUAGE RESOURCES
Persée: Portail de revues scientifiques et sciences humaines et sociales
A digital full-text collection of French-language scholarly journals. Researchers can browse journals by title or discipline, or perform specific searches across all Persée contents.
Cairn.info is a French-language web portal, founded in 2005, containing scholarly materials in the humanities and social sciences. Much of the collection is in French, but it also includes an English-language international interface to facilitate use by non-francophones.
Center for open electronic publishing (in French) that covers the full contents of 287 journals and 15 book series.
Gallica: Bibliotheque Numerique
An online full-text collection of books, manuscripts, journals, images, maps, sound recordings, and musical scores.
In consultation with the Université de Montreal and the Université Laval, érudit offers full text of French-language journal articles, books, dissertations, and other documents.
INED: Institut National d'Études Démographiques
A list of journals related to demographic and population studies from many different countries, including France and other Francophone countries. Some journals will be in French; others in English. Full-text access to each journal is dependent on individual titles.
Sites de Periodiques et de Livres Gratuits
An extensive list of free resources from the Universite de Sherbrooke
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
Openly available full-text journals that cover French/Francophone topics - some in French; others in English.
SUBJECT SPECIFIC RESOURCES
Best database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Contains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts journal articles in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
French Government & Other Sources of Quality Information
Background Research on a Country
In many research scenarios involving societal, historical, political or artistic issues related to a particular country, students will want to get to know that country first and weave that knowledge into the specific topic of interest.
An entire library guide has been devoted to research resources targeting country backgrounds. Please refer to the following guide at a starting point.
Help With Citations
Depending on the focus of study within French/Francophone Studies, students will want to refer to the citation style guide that is appropriate for their academic field (e.g., MLA for language and literature, Turabian for history, ASA for sociology).