Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These resources will be useful for both your primary source analysis project (using the 19th Century Newspapers tool below) and for if you elect the research paper option for your final paper.
Contains digitized history collections of primary sources.
East View Global press Archive:
Contains Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese newspapers (currently free to access)
This resource is excellent for searching and previewing recent scholarly publications. It is also excellent for finding and downloading digitized historical publications. For example, it supports customized searches that limit the publication time to a specific historical period.)
HathiTrust Digital Library
This is the best open-access database for digitized China-related newspaper, journals, pamphlets, rare books and manuscripts published before the 1950s.
For example, browse its collection of Millard’s Review of the Far East, link. Millard’s Review of the Far East (1917-1922) was a weekly Shanghai-based English-language publication that featured original reporting, reports on China-related subjects, and opinion. The paper was co-founded by American journalist and newspaper editor Thomas Franklin Fairfax Millard, who was considered an architect and leading voice of American journalism in China and about China in the Republican period.
Ling Long Magazine
Has useful primary sources on middle class lifestyles in the 1930s in Shanghai.
Marxists' Internet Archive
Contains digitized writings that include Chinese leftists and intellectuals.
Links and resources for studying the history of the PRC.
Virtual Shanghai Platform
Contains digitized images and historical material on Shanghai (esp. before the 1950s).
Use the "search collections" tool to search for China. These records are provided by the University of Minnesota.
Secondary Scholarly Sources
These resources will be useful for your final paper if you pick the historiography option, and for finding supplementary literature if you choose the research paper instead. The historiography finding and analyzing 5-8 recent scholarly publications, either scholarly monographs or scholarly articles in peer-reviewed journals.
Best database for world history, and the best database for writing a historiography on topics outside of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
This resource is excellent for searching and previewing recent scholarly publications.
Use for finding articles if the history databases don't return enough, but remember that for a historiography you will need to check the credentials of every author to see if they are a historian.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Use to find scholarly books at other libraries and order them on interlibrary loan.