Skip to main content
Milne Library SUNY Geneseo Subject Guides


Education (Lesson Planning Resources): Spring 2020 Library Closure & TERC

Locating Materials During Library Closure

During the library closure, physical materials available from Milne Library are limited to Course Reserves (Sturges 120). The Teacher Education Resource Center (TERC) and Special Collections & Archives will be inaccessible during the closure. This guide offers some alternatives for exploring simliar or alternative collections off-campus.

Students and faculty are encouraged to explore GLOCAT to see if any materials can be borrowed using IDS. Filtering your search to the SUNY Catalog or Worldcat will help expand your results.

If you need assistance in locating materials or using IDS, you may contact a librarian:

Request a RRLC Card

The RRLC Access Card program allows current Geneseo faculty, staff, and students to borrow materials directly from participating libraries in the Rochester region. For full information about participating libraries and their loan/use policies, please visit the "Participating Libraries & Privileges" link below.

To apply for a card, please fill out the form below (when logged in to your Geneseo account). A card will then be provided to you via campus mail and will be valid for the current year from January 1st to December 31st.

Carefully examine the Access and Lending Policies of Participants section of the RRLC page before planning any trips to participating libraries. Any questions about policies not explained by the above page should be directly to the participating library itself.

 

How may I access materials from the Teacher Education Resource Center (TERC) Collection during the library closure?

During the Spring 2020 library closure, the Teacher Education Resource Center (TERC) collection will not be accessible for checkout or use. Students and faculty may use the following teacher education collections at local libraries.

It is important to note:

  • Web-based lesson planning resources are located on the Education Guide.
  • Students and faculty will need to arrange their own transportation to these libraries.
  • If students or faculty borrow materials from these libraries, they must return materials to the library of origin. Milne Library does not return materials that are not received through IDS services.

Wadsworth Public Library, Geneseo, NY

Wadsworth Public Library has a rich collection of children's picture books and young adult literature. The library is located a couple blocks off campus at 24 Center Street. 

  • Explore Wadworth Public Library's catalog at https://wadslib.com.
  • Obtaining a library card:
    • Bring a current photo ID to the Circulation Desk of Wadsworth Public Library to get a library card.
    • Students will need to provide their campus or local address as well as their permanent home address. Student library cards will have to be renewed every six months.
    • Faculty and staff library cards will have to be renewed every two years.
    • Patrons with a Pioneer Library System library card will not have to get a new card and can instead use their Pioneer library card.

St. John Fisher College Lavery Library

St. John Fisher College's Lavery Library invites SUNY Geneseo students to utilize it's K-12 Resource Center. Students may visit the Lavery Library to browse the collection and borrow materials. 

Email inquiries about the K-12 Resource Center to libraryreference@sjfc.edu or call (585) 385-8141.

Drake Memorial Library, SUNY Brockport

Students may visit the Drake Memorial Library at SUNY Brockport and utilize its JUV collection that contains K-12 curricular resources. Most resources in Brockport's JUV Collection can be borrowed using a SUNY College ID.

Email inquiries about Brockport's curriculum collection to Logan Rath, Education Librarian and Geneseo alumnus, at lrath@brockport.edu or call (585) 395-2568.

Memorial Library, SUNY Cortland

SUNY Geneseo students may visit the Teaching Materials Center (TMC) at SUNY Cortland's Memorial Library. Most resources in the TMC can be borrowed using a SUNY College ID.

Send inquiries about the TMC to research@cortland.edu or call (607) 753-2590.