Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Mathematics: Curricula and Standards
New York State Next Generation Mathematics Learning Standards. The Board of Regents adopted the newly revised English Language Arts and Mathematics Learning Standards on September 11, 2017.
Math YA/Juv Books
Caps for Sale by Caps for Sale is a timeless classic beloved by millions...one of the most popular picture books ever published! Children will delight in following the peddler's efforts to outwit the monkeys and will ask to read it again and again. Caps for Sale is an excellent easy-to-read book that includes repetition, patterns, and colors, perfect for early readers. This tale of a peddler and a band of mischievous monkeys is filled with warmth, humor, and simplicity and also teaches children about problem and resolution.
Call Number: juv P SLO
The Lion's Share by When Ant receives a special invitation to dine with Lion, she is ready to be on her best behavior. During dessert, the other guests do not mind their manners, each one taking half of the remaining cake as it is passed around. By the time it reaches Ant, barely a crumb is left for her to share with the King! She promises to make up for it by baking another cake for the King, and not to be outdone, all the other animals in turn offer to make twice as many cakes as the next. By the time the hippo speaks up, he's to bake 256 peanut butter cakes! With McElligott's signature humor and gorgeous mixed-media art, the math concepts of halving and doubling have never been so much fun.
Call Number: juv P MCE
Max's Math by Max and his two brothers hop into a car and go looking for problems they can solve. They cruise down highway number 4 on their way to Shapeville, but they see an abandoned number along the way. Is it a 6? Is it a 9? And what's it doing on the side of the road? Once the trio reach Shapeville, there's another problem: a flood washed away all of the squares. Max and his brothers show the town that putting together two triangles will bring their shapes back together, and then they follow the residents on a trip to Count Town, where they put the missing number back in its place in the countdown to a rocket's blastoff. This title has Common Core connections.
Call Number: juv P BAN
Peg + Cat by What do fractions have to do with pizza? The stars of the Emmy Award-winning animated series Peg + Cat serve up a delicious new episode. It's lunchtime at Peg's Pizza Place! Peg and Cat are excited to take their first order -- from the Teens! -- only to learn that some of their customers want a whole pizza while one of them wants half a pie. How can Peg and Cat make half a pie when they don't know what half is? Luckily, Ramone and Mac are there to help, with a slice up the middle of the pizza. As more customers come in, things get entertaining, with Peg singing a jazzy song and Cat doing a dance. But soon there's another problem: four orders, but only two and a half pizzas left. Peg is totally freaking out -- until Cat reminds her that when it comes to halves and wholes, it's all in how you slice it.
Call Number: juv P OXL
Tally Cat Keeps Track by Tally McNally is an alley cat who loves to tally! He keeps track of all sorts of contests--who wins the most races, who is the tallest, who can climb the most trees, and more. When the results are counted up, Tally is always the winner. One rainy day, Tally competes to become the "wettest cat." But he goes too far and gets into a jam. Will his friends--who lose to him tally after tally--find a way to save him?
Call Number: juv P HAR
Teaching Reading in Mathematics
Reading Strategies for Mathematics by
Call Number: curr CT 372.7 F311mar 2001
Publication Date: 2008-03-05
Integrating Literacy and Math by
Call Number: QA135.6 .I58 2008
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Literature-Based Activities for Integrating Mathematics with Other Content Areas by
Call Number: curr CC 372.7 W35 2009
Publication Date: 2008-01-16
Mathematics: Reading strategies by
Call Number: curr CT 372.7 F311mar 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Mathematics: Special Students
Math Textbooks & Teaching Strategy Guides
Need help brainstorming Math search terms? Click here.
Children's/Young Adult Magazines
You may search by topic in any of the database below. For languages other than English, enter the name of the target language in database search box (for example, spanish language). Also search under terms related to target language without adding the term for the language. For example, search under terms related to culture such as Mexico, Mexican, Puerto Rico, etc. (place names, people).
All versions of the database provide FULL TEXT and LEXILE READING LEVELS of magazine articles for children and young adults. They also include some encyclopedia and dictionary articles. For full text, select pdf whenever you have a choice.
For paper copies of some children's/young adults' magazines, see Wadsworth Public Library on Center Street in Geneseo.
Also see databases under News (and other subjects) on Milne Library's LibGuides by Subject pages for articles in popular magazines such as Time, Newsweek, etc. and other resources that might be written at a level that is appropriate for middle or high school students.
Gale in Context: Elementary
Gale in Context: Elementary meets the research needs of students in Kindergarten through Grade 5. It features a developmentally appropriate, visually graphic interface, a subject-based topic tree search and full-text, age-appropriate, curriculum-related magazine, newspaper and reference content for information on current events, the arts, science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Illuminations is designed to: provide Standards-based resources that improve the teaching and learning of mathematics for all students and provide materials that illuminate the vision for school mathematics set forth in Principles and Standards for School Mathematics, Curriculum Focal Points for Prekindergarten through Grade 8 Mathematics, and Focus in High School Mathematics: Reasoning and Sense Making.
The Math Forum (PK - 12)
The Math Forum's Internet Math Library is a comprehensive catalog of Web sites and Web pages relating to the study of mathematics.
Math in the Real World
Lesson plans include activities to teach students how to analyze business profit and loss, how the stock market works, and how distribution of income can influence government policies.
Math Tools (NCTM)
A community library of technology tools, lessons, activities, and support materials for teaching and learning mathematics.
NCTM - Activities with Rigor and Coherence (K-12)
Each ARC is a series of lessons that addresses a mathematical topic and demonstrates the vision of Principles to Actions: Ensuring Mathematical Success for All.
Is a free site full of online mathematics games for students at all grade levels.
Students are able to challenge themselves by investigating significant mathematical content and practicing fundamental skills. The element of competition adds an extra layer of excitement.
Math Playground (K-6)
A learning site filled with math games, logic puzzles and a variety of problem solving activities.
Inside Mathematics has aligned our tasks and assessment resources with the Common Core State Standards for Mathematical Content. Note that educators can make use of these standards through searching by grade level as well as by progression, so we have provided two routes through the materials on Inside Mathematics.
Math Class With Mr. V
Features seven playlists (300 video lessons) made by a mathematics teacher teaching lessons on basic mathematics, geometry, and algebra.
Math Doctor Bob
Offers nearly 700 video lessons on statistics, algebra I and II, calculus, geometry, and much more.
Contains more than six hundred videos covering topics in Algebra and Calculus.
Videos covering topics in Algebra and Geometry.
Math Activities, Tools or Apps
Classroom Activities - Texas Instruments
Find math and science activities for elementary grades through college.
Graph functions, plot data, evaluate equations, and explore transformations
Helping families enjoy mathematics outside school through a series of fun and engaging, high-quality challenges
Solve equations, graph functions, create constructions, analyze data, explore 3D math
MathWorld is the web's most extensive mathematical resource, provided as a free service to the world's mathematics and internet communities as part of a commitment to education and educational outreach by Wolfram Research, makers of Mathematica.
Mudd Math Fun Facts
"This archive is designed as a resource for enriching your math courses and nurturing your interest and talent in mathematics."
National Library of Virtual Manipulatives
The National Library of Virtual Manipulatives (NLVM) is an NSF supported project that began in 1999 to develop a library of uniquely interactive, web-based virtual manipulatives or concept tutorials, mostly in the form of Java applets, for mathematics instruction (K-12 emphasis).