Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Doing Local History Research While SUNY Geneseo's Library Collections Are Inaccessible
Explore the tabs above to discover local history resources available in the Library (and especially beyond, until the collections are moved to Fraser Hall Library). Please contact the Special Collections Librarian for research assistance and suggestions for alternatives to physical materials held by the Library. Many print materials can be borrowed through Information Delivery Services (IDS).
Nearby Collections to Visit and Browse
Rochester Public Library - Local History & Genealogy Division
The largest collection of primary and secondary source materials about the history of Rochester and the Genesee Valley in the region, including genealogical resources. Materials do not circulate; they must be used on site.
University of Rochester Special Collections
Located in Rush Rhees Library, on UR's River Campus, these collections contain many unique treasures and important collections, with a particular focus on the Rochester area. Follow the links to digitized collections. Follow the links to Search RBSCP (Rare Books, Special Collections and Preservation) and for information on Using the Collections.
Wadsworth Library, Geneseo
Geneseo's public library, part of the Pioneer Library System, has a small collection of local history books. Search Wadsworth's collection, or all member libraries' holdings, via OWLL, under the "Catalogs" tab.
Genesee Valley Historical Collection (CURRENTLY INACCESSIBLE)
SUNY Geneseo Library's local history collection covers the eight counties surrounding the Genesee River in New York State: Allegany, Genesee, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Orleans, Steuben, and Wyoming. The collection includes over 5,900 volumes, microfilm, historic maps, atlases, and other formats.
Use GLOCAT (Advanced Search) to find materials in this collection, or one of the finding aids listed elsewhere in this guide. NOTE: Physical materials currently in Milne (inaccessible) will not display in GLOCAT. Search WorldCat instead.
Search for Books (and More!)
While the Library's collections are inaccessible, you can still discover local and college history materials held by the Library, AND held by libraries both in the area and around the world. Then submit an Information Delivery Services (IDS) request for items you'd like to borrow.
GLOCAT (Advanced Search)
Search SUNY Geneseo's Library holdings, and holdings of libraries from around the world (including all SUNY libraries), plus hundreds of databases for print and online content. NOTE: Physical materials currently in Milne (inaccessible) will not display in GLOCAT. Search WorldCat instead.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
Although a GLOCAT search will include the contents of WorldCat (and vice versa), the interface and search features of WorldCat may work better for some research needs.
WorldCat includes records for books, videos, serial publications, articles, recorded books and music, electronic books, sheet music, genealogical references, cultural artifacts, digital objects, Web sites and much more. Contents from SUNY Geneseo's Library and other libraries worldwide in over 470 languages.
Find Digitized Books
GLOCAT and WorldCat will lead you to digital copies of millions of books in both Google Books and Hathi Trust (and other OER sources), but you can search these sites on their own. You can read or download many in their entirety, some just snippets, or follow the links to borrow or purchase copies.
Claims to be "the world's most comprehensive index of full-text books."
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Special Collections Librarian