Use an asterisk to substitute for letters at the end of a word (e.g. crit* finds critic, criticism, critique etc.).
Use quotes to search multiple words as a phrase (e.g. "new age" finds these terms in exact order).
Search authors as a subject to eliminate works written by the author instead of about them.
Limit to peer-reviewed (or at least scholarly) articles to find those most desirable for work at the college level. (Peer-review explained: Some journals require articles to be reviewed by other professionals in a particular field before they can be published. These are considered the cream of the crop in scholarly articles.)
Resources for the visual and applied arts. The contents reflect the full interdisciplinarity of contemporary study in the arts and humanities, with the inclusion of ethnic and area studies, politics, economics and women's studies.Titles include both scholarly peer-reviewed journals and selected trade and popular titles relevant to applied arts and cultural studies.
Fine Arts and Music Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Contains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
Comprehensive coverage of the music field and every aspect of the classical and popular worlds of music. Content from 1970 to the present, the Music Index contains cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts of articles about music, musicians and the music industry for nearly 500 journals.
Oxford Music Online provides the full text with ongoing updates of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, 2nd ed., The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, 2nd ed.
A collection of information about opera and operatic arias. Besides providing basic information about each aria, the Database includes translations for many arias and aria texts for those that are not affected by copyright restrictions.