Alternative Press IndexIndexes 300 alternative, radical and left periodicals that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political and social change. Covers 1991 to present.
New York Times Article ArchiveThe complete backfile of The New York Times can be searched from NYTimes.com, over 16 million articles in all. The database gives free access to articles from 1857 to 1922, and after 1987. For the full text of articles that appeared between 1923 and 1986, you can use the microfilm copies of the NYT, available on the lower floor of Milne Library.
Is a database with full text of articles written by the historian(s) of the city of Rochester; although the articles themselves are secondary sources, they are based on primary sources. Articles cover all eras of Rochester and Western New York history.
Washington Post ArchiveThe complete backfile of the Washington Post can be searched in this index. Some of the articles can be found in Milne Library on microfilm, others can be found full-text online in various library databases.
ARTstorAccess over a million images covering the fine and decorative arts from around the world as well as architecture and commercial design. ARTstor also includes many images which document cultural events and news stories. Note: You must be logged into the SUNY Geneseo VPN to access this resource. Please use a new private browser window when accessing this resource.
Free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Academic Search CompleteScholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
America: History & LifeCovers the history of the United States and Canada. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized.
Historical AbstractsBest database for world history. Lists scholarly articles from history journals. Allows you to search by journal name. Each article is summarized. Covers the history of civilization (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
MLA International BibliographyMLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
JSTORContains almost 1,000 full-text journals spanning multiple disciplines. Some journals go to back to the mid-1800's. There is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issues and the issues available in JSTOR.
ProQuest Research LibraryAbstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Brings together articles, books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies, documenting the multiplicity of women’s reform activities. ”Teaching Tools” has 21 comprehensive lesson plans with over 100 lesson ideas and six Document-Based Question units.