Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Business Plans Handbook by
Publication Date: 1993-2004
A compilation of actual business plans developed by small businesses throughout North America available in the Gale Virtual Business Reference Collection
Encyclopedia of Small Business by
Publication Date: 2001
This convenient and exhaustive two-volume print reference source is designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to information that they can apply to their own business. The "Encyclopedia contains 600 detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of small business owners, including financing; financial planning; business plan creation; market analysis; sales strategy; tax planning; human resource issues; and more.
How to Set up Your Own Small Business by
Call Number: HD62.7 .H683 2003 v.2
Includes sections on starting a business, writing a business plan, finance and accounting, sales and marketing, and management.
Small business sourcebook (2 vols.) by
Call Number: HD 2346 .U5 .S66 2002
Covers 341 small business profiles including such information as start-up, associations, reference works, statistical sources, trade periodicals, trade shows, franchises, etc.
Publication Date: 2006
"Step-by-step, this inspiring and highly readable book covers how to evaluate the strength of your business idea, how to protect your invention, what legal steps and responsibilities are involved in forming a company, how to position your products in the market, how to create a business plan and raise finance." "The case studies, practical exercises and tips in this book will help to demystify the process of starting a new business, give you the confidence to do it and greatly increase your chances of realising your dream."--Jacket.
Books and Other Library Materials
Searching in GLOCAT+ for materials held by Milne or IDS Search for books and multimedia available world-wide.
To find books and other materials on the topic of consumer behavior, search by Subject keywords using terms that come to mind or use Library of Congress Subject Headings including the following:
New business enterprises
United States: Small Business Administration
(Consult the Library of Congress Authorities for additional headings)
Locating Books on the Shelves
On the results screen of the desired item, locate the appropriate call number (or "address") that will help you find the book on the shelf. For instance, in the example below, we have four copies of the The Fault in Our Stars. There is one copy listed as "Available" which means it can be checked out.
Milne Library uses the Library of Congress call number system which consists of a series of letters and numbers. Each beginning letter (or set of letters) represents a subject area. If you find one book on the shelf, then the others that are around it will likely be related. This makes browsing the shelves a good strategy for finding additional resources.
If you ever need help finding a book in our collection, just ask at the Service Desk -- we're happy to help!