*Sociology
This guide is your portal to reliable resources pertaining to the study of human social behavior.
Differentiating Between Medical & Sociomedical Articles
Record your group's ideas on the SOCL 314 Padlet: https://padlet.com/westb1/socl314
Annotated Bibliographies
-
Abstracts vs. Annotations ExerciseOpen a copy of this .docx file.
Video: Annotated Bibliographies: An Illustrated Guide
This video recaps how to put an annotated bibliography together.
Library Databases
-
Literature Search Strategies for SOCL 314Follow these guidelines to locate literature from specific journals within the Sociological Abstracts and Medline with Full-Text databases.
-
Sociological AbstractsContains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
-
MEDLINE with Full TextAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. Created by the National Library of Medicine, MEDLINE uses MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) indexing with tree, tree hierarchy, subheadings and explosion capabilities to search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
-
Citation LinkerEnter article information to determine if Milne has online access to a particular article.
American Sociological Association (ASA) Citation Guides
-
ASA Citation Quick GuideCitation guide created by Wayne State University.
-
American Sociological Association (ASA) Style, from Purdue UniversityThis handout covers American Sociological Association (ASA) style and includes information about manuscript formatting, in-text citations, and formatting the references page. The bibliographical format described here is taken from American Sociological Association (ASA) Style Guide, 5th edition.