Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Women and Gender Studies is an interdisciplinary program encompassing the history, arts, sociology, politics, and economics of women. Because Women's Studies is concerned with so many different types of topics, you are can use a variety of databases in combinations with other resources to answer your research question.
Reference resources (encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.), are intended to help in finding general background information on a subject or for verifying specific facts. Often, they will have bibliographies which will enable you to find even more information on your subject. See the below Art History recommendations to start researching about your subject
Gale Virtual Reference Library Encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary and subject specific research in areas such as art, business, education, history, etc.
Points of View Reference Center Provides overviews of topics, including arguments on multiple sides of an issue. In addition to original essays, includes articles from leading political magazines, newspapers, radio/TV transcripts, primary source documents and reference books.
Women's Studies Encyclopedia by Tierney's highly acclaimed Women's Studies Encyclopedia has become the standard in the field, but research on women has proceeded rapidly since its publication. Feminist thought has grown and branched out, and women's conditions have changed markedly in some areas. This revised and expanded edition will meet the continuing need for a multidisciplinary reference tool on all facets of the female condition. With close to 400 contributors, it expands coverage of such areas as violence against women, women in public life, and women in specific countries and regions. Many of the articles are new or completely rewritten, while others have been updated or expanded. The encyclopedia contains information about women from all fields and disciplines of study, written in non-specialist language accessible to all readers. It will continue to be a useful resource for students and scholars doing research outside their fields, and the interested layperson.
Publication Date: 1999-05-18
The library's catalog is a good source to start your research. Use "Advanced Search" to limit your searches by material type and collections. You can also narrow down your results by "peer reviewed" or "open access" materials.