Women and Gender Studies: Databases & Journals
Subject Specific Databases
-
Archives of Sexuality and Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture The Archives of Sexuality & Gender program provides a robust and significant collection of primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century, researchers and scholars can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas. This growing archival program offers rich research opportunities across a wide span of human history.
-
Gender Studies Collection (Gale) Gender Studies Collection provides balanced coverage of this significant aspect of culture and society. The database offers access to scholarly journals and magazines covering topics including gender studies, family and marital issues, and more.
-
Sociological Abstracts Contains scholarly works in sociology and related disciplines. Provides citations and summaries for articles, dissertations, books and association papers in sociology and related disciplines.
-
Women's Studies Archive: Voice and Vision Women’s Studies Archive connects archival collections concerning women’s history from across the globe and from a wide range of sources. Focusing on the evolution of feminism throughout the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, the archive provides materials on women’s political activism, such as suffrage, birth control, pacifism, civil rights, and socialism, and on women’s voices, from female-authored literature to women’s periodicals.
-
Women in Politics Bibliographic Database Developed with the contribution of the United Nations Development Programme (UNDP), the database is regularly updated to take account of new books and articles produced throughout the world on the subject of women in politics.
-
Women Working, 1800-1930 Digitized historical, manuscript, and image resources selected from Harvard University's library and museum collections that explore women's roles in the U.S. economy between the Civil War and the Great Depression.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Complete Scholarly, multidisciplinary database containing more than 6,100 full-text journals, and indexing/abstracts for more than 10,100 journals.
-
MLA International Bibliography MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s and contains over 2.2 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
-
ProQuest Research Library Abstracts and full text for scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers. Covers the arts, business, children, education, general interest, health, humanities, international, law, military, multicultural, psychology, sciences, social sciences, and women's studies.
Find Journals
-
GLOCAT's Journal SearchUse GLOCAT's Journal Search to find the journal titles available in the library.